Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Panasonic VOIP vs 3CX VOIP

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Andy130614, Jun 13, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Andy130614

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    We're looking at implementing a 3CX phone system and we're a bit confused about the upload speed required.

    We currently have a Panasonic VOIP system, and we have 8 lines running off an ADSL2+ with 10mb download and 1mb upload speed. It works perfectly, and we NEVER have any call quality issues.

    We are interested in putting in a 3CX system so that we can join three offices together, and have the sites integrated, for a total of 13 lines, with 5 of them remote from the IP-PBX, with more remote lines possible in the future.

    We have checked with about 4 different Panasonic dealers who all say that we need a much faster upload speed for this scenario.

    We have checked with multiple 3CX dealers who all say it will work perfectly.

    In both cases they are talking about the same codec - G 729a I think. But one side says to allow for 100KB or more and the other side says 40KB is fine.

    The explanation I had from a Panasonic dealer is that it's only around 40KB needed technically, but in their experience in the field we should be allowing for 100KB at least to ensure reliability of call quality.

    As far as I can tell there is only two options - Panasonic dealers are overly conservative and/or 3CX dealers are not conservative enough, (the ones we've spoken to anyway), or there is some technical difference between the two systems in terms of the bandwidth required.

    Can anyone shed any light on this?

    Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!!
     
  2. bardissi

    bardissi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    G729a codec is the same for all systems.

    Ultimately you wont know how things will work until you actually try it and see what happens.

    I would suggest you get a key and test it out or get a cloud trial and drop a couple of phones and see if it works for you.

    Keep in mind 3CX handles G729 codecs in the follow way:
    Half of the sim call limit can be set at G729. Example: 4 sim call license - only 2 sim call can be G729
     
  3. AndreasP_3CX

    AndreasP_3CX New Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Bardissi

    Actually that is not correct either. Your G729 licence is Channels NOT simultaneous calls. For example a call from extension to extension using G711= 1 Sim Call, Same scenario using G729 = 2 Channels, so at best you will be able to make 1 call in this example.

    Best Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. bardissi

    bardissi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well was is still the case is only half the of sim call license can use G729

    Thats interesting that you take up 2 channels for every 1 call with G729.

    That is not how it was posed before but thank you for that clarification.
     
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,086
    Likes Received:
    326
    Here is some info on call bandwidth.

    http://www.3cx.com/blog/docs/bandwidth-utilised-for-voip/
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.