Passing through Caller ID with SIP

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Shad, Mar 28, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shad

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all,
    Been working at this for a while, he call path is as follows: ABC calls the office, passes through ring groupd until it heads for the external mobile number. Here it is supposed to give the caller ID of ABC, instead it gives the office number. The SIP provider we have here is Spectrum and they are claiming that everything is good on their end for us to pass through the external ID, but still no dice.
    I have modified the outbound SIP parameters as follows:
    upload_2018-3-28_11-57-6.png
    Any clues as to what I am missing would be great!
    Thanks guys!
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,433
    Likes Received:
    234
    You can try changing Remote Party ID - Calling Party : User Part to "OriginatorCallerID"
     
  3. Brian Cross

    Brian Cross New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    27
    I have this functionality working that you are wanting. Although I'm using a different SIP provider my

    Outbound parameters are:
    Remote Party ID - Calling Party: Display Name - "OriginatorCallerID"
    Remote Party ID - Calling Party: User Part - "OriginatorCallerID"

    Hope that helps.
     
  4. ronen@conticomp.com

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    We just moved to Spectrum and are having the same issues. Spectrum is saying it is on us but we can not figure it out. Did you make any headway by chance?
     
  5. Shad

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Guys,

    I tried those settings and still no luck. Any other thoughts/ideas?
     
  6. Brian Cross

    Brian Cross New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    27
    Sounds like Spectrum doesn't support it.
     
  7. Shad

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what I am wondering. However, when I spoke to the tech he claimed that they did support it.

    I did get a bit more information after reviewing the notes on that conversation, the tech was reffering to the "Redirecting Number Information Element (RNIE)" and I am fairly sure that the 3CX parameters that we have been working on are the equivelant of that. Am I wrong in that?
     
  8. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,433
    Likes Received:
    234
    You calls may be seen as simply originating, and not a re-direction (diversion?), and may be handled differently. If someone Spectrum can spend the time looking at one of your calls, they should be able to tell you if it will, or should, work.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.