Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Patton 4940 fail issue

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by craigreilly, May 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    305
    I have a Patton 4940 for my primary lines connected to CenturyLink. We have 12 lines and are under contract.
    We have a NexVortex VOIP line for backup.

    Right now, the Patton circuit is down. The Patton is connected to our network and authenticated. In this scenario, when someone trys to call outbound, they get a busy signal. I would expect it to fail and goto the NexVortex. Do I need to make a change in the Patton? I know I can simply unplug the Patton from my network and then it would no longer be registered and calls should flow outbound using the NexVortex. But if I am not here and something happens, I want the calls to transition properly.


    11:07:48.142 [CM503016]: Call(204): Attempt to reach <sip:2065575@10.0.0.12> failed. Reason: Busy
    11:07:48.141 [CM503003]: Call(204): Call to sip:2065575@10.0.3.1:5060 has failed; Cause: 486 Busy Here; from IP:10.0.3.1:5060
    11:07:48.074 [CM503025]: Call(204): Calling Unknown:2065575@(Ln.10003@Patton PRI)@[Dev:sip:10003@10.0.3.1:5060]
    11:07:48.027 [CM503004]: Call(204): Route 2: VoIPline:14802065575@(Ln.10002@NexV)@[Dev:sip:rq8845MYAQ@px3.nexvortex.com:5060]
    11:07:48.026 [CM503004]: Call(204): Route 1: Unknown:2065575@(Ln.10003@Patton PRI)@[Dev:sip:10003@10.0.3.1:5060]
    11:07:48.025 [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:2065575@10.0.0.12>
    11:07:48.025 [CM505001]: Ext.4954: Device info: Device Not Identified: User Agent not matched; Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [Yealink SIP-T38G 38.0.23.16] PBX contact: [sip:4954@10.0.0.12:5060]
    11:07:48.024 [CM503001]: Call(204): Incoming call from Ext.4954 to <sip:2065575@10.0.0.12>
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,116
    Likes Received:
    329
    You would need to cause the Patton to be unregistered to 3CX. Pull the plug on it. If it remains registered, and this applies to any gateway, and it accepts the call, but then the call fails, there is no provision for 3CX to then try another outbound route. 3CX need to see the first route as not registered or busy before going to the second choice.

    If the Patton has/had an option to detect loss of T1 sync and then cause it to stop registering with 3CX, then that might work for you, if the T1 going down is the your problem.

    You'd have the same issue if you pulled the phone cord out of an analogue gateway, it would still be registered, but of course, the call would fail.
     
  3. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    305
    So no provision... if I am not here - I need to login to Admin and reroute my calls if someone tells me system is not making calls.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,116
    Likes Received:
    329
    I would be more concerned with why the T1 is failing, that doesn't sound like good service.

    You could set up a switch to cut power to just the Patton, that someone in the office could operate, if they found that there was a problem dialling out over those trunks.

    If you made use of an access digit, like 9, for outbound calls, then you could also have a rule using , say, 8 as a prefix, which would send the outside call on the other provider. If the PRI going down were a regular occurrence, the users would be told to use 8+ when they can't get out using 9+.
     
  5. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    305
    this was not real word - sort of.
    my final cutover was tonight after hours. but until I had done the cutover, folks had access to make outbound calls using a VOIP line. That VOIP Line was number 2 provider in my rules - and the Trunk was #1. Since my trunk was still in my old PBX System, tit was not available to the Patton.

    Just stirring the pot I guess.
    Thanks for the advice.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.