patton smartnode 4960 firmware

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by ndl, Dec 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ndl

    ndl

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,

    which version of patton smartnode 4960 firmware is recommended for use with version 7 generated config files?

    thanks,

    martin
     
  2. discovery1

    discovery1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Officially From the documentation:

    IMPORTANT This device has been tested for Fax and Voice using firmware 'Smartware 4.2 Build Series 2008-03-11' versions available from http://upgrades.patton.com/submodelselect.asp?model=SmartNode. There are known issues with fax on earlier firmware versions, and on voice (queues, ring groups and API functions) using more recent versions. 3CX Support shall require use of the above firmware to address support issues.

    http://www.3cx.com/voip-gateways/patton-sn4960.html

    Supposedly also 5.1 but there have been some issues - Kevin from 3CX mentioned that templates are now available for the following Patton devices with V5.1 firmware:

    patton-sn-4112
    patton-sn-4114
    patton-sn-4524
    patton-sn-4552
    patton-sn-4554
    patton-sn-4634-3bis-ui
    patton-sn-4638-5bis-ui
    patton-sn-4960-e1-1port
    patton-sn-4960-e1
    patton-sn-4960-t1-1port
    patton-sn-4960-t1
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. ndl

    ndl

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read those instructions and we are running 'Smartware 4.2 Build Series 2008-03-11' from when we were testing with version 6 of 3cx. I'm sure that I read somewhere that a different firmware was recommended for version 7 of 3cx, I just cannot find that page again.

    We are running with a Patton 4960 config file created by version 7 of 3cx but we are getting an error in the 4960 boot log:


    2008-12-30T13:35:58 : LOGWARNING : Config: Line 100: SN4960/1E15V(if-sip)[IF_SIP_0]#route default dest-interface IF_ISDN_0
    2008-12-30T13:35:58 : LOGWARNING : Config: % ^ Keyword mismatch


    We can receive PSTN phone calls via the 4960 just fine but we cannot make any calls via the 4960 we get “404 not found” errors. I have read on this forum that these errors are usually linked to in correct firmware and config files.

    So either version 7 of 3cx is producing incorrect config files or version 7 needs a different 4960 firmware.
     
  4. Discovery Technology

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know if this will help, however...

    We have a working scenario with the V6-generated config file and firmware version 4.2 (with no mods after the config file was generated, using the defaults)

    I wonder if there were any changes between the two versions - I'll re-do the process under V7 and see if there are any differences to the config file.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. ndl

    ndl

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that there maybe a problem with version 7 generated config files and 4.2.

    I upgraded the 4960 firmware to the latest 5.1 available for download, generated a version7 5.1 config file and everything worked with no error messages in the 4060 logs.

    If someone from 3cx would like the config files please drop me message.

    martin
     
  6. mbaltus

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same issue with a Patton 4960 1xE1/T1 24V. I manually updated the configuration file and changed that line (line 94 in my case) to read:
    Code:
    route call dest-interface IF_ISDN_0
    After this, I could load the config file in the Patton without any errors.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    145
    Patton 4960 and 3CX version 7. Recommended firmwares for patton devices.

    firmware 4.X
    SN4960/4E30V/UI
    R4.2 2008-03-11 H323 RBS SIP hence March

    firmware 5.X
    SN4960/4E30V/UI
    R5.2 2008-11-14 SIP hence latest.

    Both Generate config files work fine.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. ndl

    ndl

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry but version 7 IMHO does not generate good configuration files for the R4.2 2008-03-11 firmware and from other posts on this forum other users have the same opinion.

    I do agree that version 7 does generate good configuration files for the version 5.1 firmware
     
  9. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    145
    Can you send us a "bad" configuration or tell us what is wrong with it?

    Also what version are you using? There was a version (not 4249 for sure) that did not generate the lines in the order they show at the moment, but it should not affect functionality.

    You can copy and paste the config here for us to see.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. ndl

    ndl

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem sending you our config file, I offered on the 2 Jan to send it for someone to look at.

    As for what is wrong with it, if you have a look at my post on the 31st December you can see the error message I posted from the 4960 boot log. I have just noticed that the spaces between the “%” and the “^” characters have disappeared from the original posting. The “^” character should be underneath the word “default”

    2008-12-30T13:35:58 : LOGWARNING : Config: Line 100: SN4960/1E15V(if-sip)[IF_SIP_0]#route default dest-interface IF_ISDN_0
    2008-12-30T13:35:58 : LOGWARNING : Config: % ^ Keyword mismatch


    Sorry not sure what versioning you are asking about.

    The version of 3cx is the release version 7 and for the 4960 it was 'Smartware 4.2 Build Series 2008-03-11' as stated before.


    From the post by mbaltus on the 10th Jan it looks he has the fix for the problem, but I cannot try that because we have upgraded the 4960 firmware to 5.2 and are now working.


    The config here:


    #########################################################
    #
    # For SN-4960 4-port E1
    #
    # Author: Kevin Attard Compagno
    # Date: 2008-04-09
    # Contact: kevin@3cx.com
    #
    #########################################################

    webserver port 80 language en

    system
    ic voice 0

    system
    clock-source 1 e1t1 0 0

    profile ppp default


    profile call-progress-tone defaultDialtone
    flush-play-list
    play 1 1000 350 -13 440 -13

    profile call-progress-tone defaultAlertingtone
    flush-play-list
    play 1 400 400 -19 450 -19
    pause 2 200
    play 3 400 400 -19 450 -19
    pause 4 2000

    profile call-progress-tone defaultBusytone
    flush-play-list
    play 1 375 400 -24
    pause 2 375

    profile call-progress-tone defaultReleasetone
    flush-play-list
    play 1 400 400 -24
    pause 2 350
    play 3 225 400 -24
    pause 4 525

    profile call-progress-tone defaultCongestiontone
    flush-play-list
    play 1 400 400 -24
    pause 2 350
    play 3 225 400 -24
    pause 4 525


    profile tone-set default

    profile voip default
    codec 1 g711alaw64k rx-length 20 tx-length 20
    codec 2 g711ulaw64k rx-length 20 tx-length 20
    fax transmission 1 relay t38-udp

    profile pstn default

    profile sip default
    no autonomous-transitioning

    profile aaa default
    method 1 local
    method 2 none

    context ip router

    interface IF_IP_WAN
    ipaddress dhcp
    tcp adjust-mss rx mtu
    tcp adjust-mss tx mtu

    interface IF_IP_LAN
    ipaddress 10.4.0.230 255.255.0.0
    tcp adjust-mss rx mtu
    tcp adjust-mss tx mtu

    context cs switch

    mapping-table calling-pi to calling-e164 MP_REM_CLIR
    map restricted to ""

    routing-table called-e164 RT_ISDN_TO_SIP_0
    route T2 dest-interface IF_SIP_0 MP_REM_CLIR

    interface isdn IF_ISDN_0
    route call dest-table RT_ISDN_TO_SIP_0

    interface sip IF_SIP_0
    bind gateway GW_SIP_0

    early-connect
    early-disconnect

    service default
    route default dest-interface IF_ISDN_0
    remote-party-id called-party
    address-translation outgoing-call request-uri user-part fix 10002 host-part to-header target-param none
    address-translation incoming-call called-e164 request-uri

    context cs switch
    no shutdown

    gateway sip GW_SIP_0
    call-signaling-port 5060
    bind interface IF_IP_LAN router

    service default
    domain 10.4.10.100
    defaultserver manual 10.4.10.100 loose-router
    registration-lifetime 300
    registration manual 10.4.10.100
    user 10002 authenticate name 10002 password 10002 default register

    gateway sip GW_SIP_0
    no shutdown

    port ethernet 0 0
    medium auto
    encapsulation ip
    bind interface IF_IP_WAN router
    no shutdown

    port ethernet 0 1
    medium auto
    encapsulation ip
    bind interface IF_IP_LAN router
    no shutdown

    port e1t1 0 0
    port-type e1
    clock auto
    framing crc4
    encapsulation q921

    q921
    uni-side auto
    encapsulation q931

    q931

    protocol dss1

    uni-side user
    encapsulation cc-isdn
    bind interface IF_ISDN_0 switch

    port e1t1 0 0
    no shutdown
     
  11. mbaltus

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've upgraded my Patton to the suggested 4.2 release of 2008-03-11. I'm generating a config for the E1 version with 1 port. Like the others I received the error. Going into the console prompt of the Patton, I manually inserted the config file lines and discovered that the route default command should read route call.
    Manually updating the config file with the correct command and reloading it into the Patton worked fine.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. kevin

    kevin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi there

    mbaltus is correct: his solution fixes the problem.

    The source of this issue is simply because the backup procedure also saves template files, and therefore the restore procedure will restore them. So if the backup contains a template file with an error, restore will reintroduce this problem even if the newer build just installed has the template fixed.

    The best way to go about this is to go to the Updates page and update the Gateway templates - this way you get the latest versions.

    I have checked all the Patton templates in the updates for V7 and they are all correct as far as this issue is concerned.

    Hope this help clear up things.

    Regards

    Kevin
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. ndl

    ndl

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are I see.

    We did have a configured 3cx version 6 and I did follow the instructions about backup and restore to upgrade to 3cx version 7.

    What I cannot remember is the order I did the restore/ update i.e: Did I restore then run the phone system upgrade or did I upgrade then restore.

    But I do know that everything at the time of generating the configuration file was showing as up to date.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.