• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

Please help out someone new to VOIP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mioduz

Reaction score
I have a smallish project that I am trying to tackle. I have a building that will need network and phone service installed. All of the offices have CAT5 Cabling ran to them already, with RJ-45 Jacks in the wall.
There will be computers and phones in all of the offices, but there are no phone jacks.
I only intend on having one phone line coming into the building
There will be no connection to the internet, but there will be an internal network
Can I use a VOIP gateway and use VOIP phones and connect all the phones and computers to the same network, and simply plug the existing phone line coming into the building into the VOIP gateway, to have phone service???

thanks
Chris

Chris, I'm a novice at this myself but this is a perfect application for a voip solution. An IP PBX such as 3cx will allow the desktop SIP phones to act as extensions and you will have the option to use software based SIP phones on the desktop PC's and even mobile devices over wifi. The connection to the public phone system (aka PSTN) can be made with a gateway device that you plug into your network or a card that you install into the IP PBX. These come in various forms ranging in price from $12 on ebay to several thousand dollars depending on the quality, performance and features that you need. You can experiment with 3CX and one of the low cost devices like the Linksys SPA 3102 (around $100) without too much expense. The IP PBX such as 3cx gives you a great deal of control regarding who gets to call out over this PSTN line and what the dialling rules are and how you want inbound calls on that line to be routed (eg to a given extension, ring all extensions etc).