Polycom 320 external ext

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by wlmoate, Sep 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wlmoate

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Polycom 320 setup on a local network which functions fine. I have taken it and tried it as a remote ext. I have set the IP address as my fixed IP which has all the ports open but will not connect.

    I am at a loss what to try now. I an give my IP and a account if someone can try connect to my PBX if that helps?

    Wayne
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,375
    Likes Received:
    231
    Are you using the Polycom behind a router in the remote location? Have you turned on STUN on the Polycom, you'll want to make sure you've done that if you are trying to use it behind a router.
     
  3. wlmoate

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I am using it behind a firewall. I can not find were to enter the stun details.

    Wayne
     
  4. tpinnovations

    tpinnovations Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    It should be under Network > STUN IP

    If you don't see it you may need to update firmware.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. houston

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Polycom's do not do STUN. They, as of the current firmware at least, cannot be made to work with a dynamic IP without some sort of helper, but can be made to work with a static one. You can specify a static public IP under the NAT section, and what ports to use and so on.

    My suggestion would be first get it working directly connected to the internet with your static public IP. Once you have the phone working, then add your firewall to the mix. This way you aren't troubleshooting basic connectivity PLUS potential firewall/nat issues.

    Another option is to use a sip proxy. The VOIP version of DD-WRT has one built in (though DD-WRT proved unstable on my Dlink DIR-330 routers). There are a few free Windows ones, like Winsip and Teksip. And the 3cx VOIP phone can act as a "tunnel", a wierdish proxy in a sense.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.