• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

Polycom 320 phone fails after SP4 Installation

Status
Not open for further replies.

Toolie

Reaction score
I am a 3CX newbie. I got my 3CX system working and then applied SP4, and now my Polycom 320 phone no longer connects to my 3CX phone system. It is receiving its provisioning template, but when the provisioning is complete, there is NO dial tone, NO symbol in the upper right showing that it's a registered phone, and after about 1 minute it reboots itself. It reboots over and over and over, and never functions properly.

I have done a complete reinstallation, reapplied SP4, and the result is the same. A few details:

Windows Server 2003 domain controller
3CX v9 with SP4
Polycom SIP 320 phone (it's the ONLY phone I have so far) provisioned using option 66
Skype as PSTN
Skype Gateway on another computer, connected, registered, etc.

Everything was working fine until SP4. I am going to reinstall and stay with SP3, but PLEASE somebody tell me what's going on with SP4!??!

Toolie

Hi Toolie,

There are changes in SP4 and special notes are provided for Polycom phones.
You can find detailed instructions here:
http://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/polycom-provisioning.html
(this link is specified in the announce of SP4: http://www.3cx.com/blog/releases/3cx-version-9-service-pack-4/ . See chapter "Updating your 3CX Phone System 9 installation")

Thanks

I upgraded my first phone using the instructions on this page: http://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/polycom-provisioning.html. Under Updating the Polycom firmware it says:

• From the UCS Split sip firmware download, take the file 'sip.ld' and paste it also in the Provisioning folder mentioned above.

There IS no file called "sip.ld" -- there are about 8 of them, all prefixed with various assembly numbers. With a lot of digging, I figured out that the Polycom 320 uses one of two: