Poor call quality, choppy, massive delays

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Patrick McNamara, Nov 16, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Patrick McNamara

I've been using 3CX for about 2 months and my system seemed stable and clear, but over the past couple of weeks my call quality has been terrible. Local extension to extension calls are still crystal clear but incoming and outgoing calls are horrible. I've been taking numbers for inbound callers and calling them back on my mobile, not the way my company needs to do business. It's not a bandwidth issue because there is very little running over my network, and it doesn't seem to be related to a specific time. Flowroute is my SIP provider and they have been working on the issue for several days without a resolution. I want to be able to install, configure and resell 3CX phone systems but if I can't make it work for myself I could never have the confidence to resell the product. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. Flash99

If you want to resell the product you need to be able to understand how it works and the basics of VOIP before you start blaming the product :)

Do you use real phones or soft phones ? If its phones what codec they use? What codec your SIP provider use ? Where is your server is it on a local network or in the cloud ? Physical server or virtual ?

3. Patrick McNamara

I apologize if you think I was blaming 3CX for the call quality issues, because I'm not. 3CX has been an excellent product and I'm looking forward to learning more about VOIP and 3CX. Answers to your questions:

Grandstream GXP2110 Phones on local subnet
    On-Premise hosted on my VMWare server running a virtualized instance of Windows7 and 3CX.
    I've tried multiple codecs, the default that installs with 3CX and I've tried G722 (which I saw on another post).
    I've got an email in to flowroute about their default codec.