Potential New user - General Questions about capability

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Psychlist1972, Aug 20, 2007.

1. Psychlist1972

Hi All

I have been evaluating IPPBX software for my home network. I spent a good amount of time looking at flavors of asterisk, but didn't want to take the linux plunge unless I really had to.

3CX free pbx looks like a good piece of software, but I need to know about a few scenarios before I install it. I have read through the manual (mainly skimming with a dive into some appropriate sections) and looked through these forums before coming up with questions. However, if I missed a reference, please feel free to point me to it.

My Background
    I am a software developer with some reasonable networking experience. Nothing too deep there, but enough to rack and run four servers and run all the cat5e around my house.

Infrastructure Setup
    • - Wired (CAT5e in walls) and wireless home network.
      - Windows Server 2003 boxes centralized in my basement, adjacent to inbound PSTN.
      - One PSTN line to outside world; no outside VOIP service currently.
      - Caller ID, Call Waiting service frome phone company

Needed Capabilities
    If any of the functions below require a version other than the free (or are/aren't possible), please let me know. I would like to start off by using this basically like a normal old house phone setup. Meaning:
    • - I would like to have inbound calls ring all extensions (looks like ring groups would do that)
      - If anyone picks up any extension in that group, the other extensions stop ringing (not sure if this is supported)
      - One central voice mail box to start. Inbound calls go here after x rings, without having to enter an extension (not sure if this is supported)