Pre Sales Q

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Nitin, Nov 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nitin

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello

    I have the fllowing questions -

    a) Does 3CX works like asterisk or like Sipx (Does it handle all media+signalling or only signalling)
    b) Does it support HD voice? Does it support passthrough?
    c) The free version - does it support tunneling?
    d) The softclients - can they be pushed by msi? (SCE2007)
    e) Will it autoprovision (the config as well as firmware files) for Polycom 550 and Cisco 79x1?
    f) Can it force the phone to reboot?
    g) The free version - 4 sim calls - clarify - does it mean 4 calls between extensions or 4 calls between gateway. If it means extensions, does that mean only 2 calls at one go? (eg 200->201, 202->203?)

    Thank you
    Nitin
     
  2. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    99
    It can handle Signalling or Media or Both.

    HD Voice works with 3CX, it's a question whether the phone supports it or not.


    No

    The clients are MSI's


    Gonna have to get back to you on this one.


    Yes

    Internally it means:
    100 Calls 999
    101 Calls 999
    102 Calls 999
    103 calls 999

    4 Calls in total


    It's the same thing externally.
    The only scenario where you will eat a double license is if you call IN to the PBX and then call OUT through the PBX.
    Stuff like the Voice Mail Call Back Feature otherwise known as Boomerang will eat 2 Calls for you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Nitin

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It can handle Signalling or Media or Both.




    This is very important - As we have branch offices, with phones registering to the head office. With our current trixbox(which sits between all phones), the voice comes to headoffice and leaves to branch, even if the two phones are next to each other. In sipx, the phones will route voice directly.

    So, please clarify how 3CX will handle this.

    Nitin
     
  4. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    99
    Unfortunately at the moment the Sip Proxy Manager that is used to connect Main Offices / Branches cannot do this.

    At the moment...
    All Audio: Ext100 in Branch1 > Main Office PBX > Ext101 in Branch1
    Everything is tunneled to the Main Branch PBX.


    But i do know that after a while / in the future we will make this feature available in a future version of the Sip Proxy Manager.
    If the phone you are trying to call is on the Same LAN as yours, the Audio will be directed to that phone instead of going through the Internet Wasting Bandwidth.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Nitin

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0



    This is getting more confusing. Different branches are connected to each other by ISA VPN. Ofcourse the have different subnets.
    So, you say, 192.168.60.x phones will talk to other phones on 192.168.60.x directly and 192.168.10.x via 3cx?

    Nitin
     
  6. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    99
    Unfortunately we do not support ISA VPN because of the Nat Limitations.
    If you are trying to use Branch office VPN / Lan to Lan VPN you are in a Dead end unfortunately.

    We have another Solution for this and it's called the 3CX Sip Proxy manager which is free and can be downloaded off the Wiki.
    With the Proxy manager, i dont see why you would need an ISA VPN.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. igor.snezhko

    igor.snezhko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    7
    For me its works.

    Grandstream GXP-280 - VPN - Main office - VPN - Grandstream GXP-280

    All I needed is to turn ON PBX Deliver Audio for Extensions, corresponding to branch offices.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.