Presence supported on Android when tunnel used?

Discussion in 'Android' started by bccmartin, Oct 28, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bccmartin

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 3CX Android page states the the Andorid app supports Presence
    http://www.3cx.com/3cxphone/android/

    ..however the 3CX Tunnel page states that presence is not supported
    http://www.3cx.com/docs/3cx-tunnel-session-border-controller/

    Specifically, users using the Android app would be out of the office (not on LAN) so would be connecting via the tunnel.

    We have yet to buy 3CX and would like to know what the status of this is, before we decide to buy?

    I would like to be able to offer the ability for my users to launch the Android app on their phone and change their Presence status e.g. 'In the office' to 'Out of office'

    Many thanks in adance
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,583
    Likes Received:
    251
    My understanding is that Presence information (at this point) does not pass through the tunnel, only call set-up and audio packets, a port is still required to be opened/forwarded for it.
     
  3. ian.watts

    ian.watts Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    That sounds right.. at least today. :)
     
  4. helpdesk_ict

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So the only way to make presence working on mobile, is by opening up 80 or 443 to the server?
    Wouldn`t that make the management interface available to the public internet aswell?
     
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,583
    Likes Received:
    251
    Perhaps someone else can confirm how version 14 operates. I'm just getting around to installing it for testing. It was hoped that in 14, Presence information would also be sent over the tunnel and that no additional ports would have to be left open . I can't confirm (yet) whether this is the case.

    If additional ports are still required to be open for Presence, then strong passwords on all LAN access are a must.

    This is the updated 3CX port list...

    http://www.3cx.com/blog/docs/ports-used/
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.