Problem with incoming FAX

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by garrycarpenter, Feb 28, 2008.

  1. garrycarpenter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been unable to get the incoming FAX working....

    I think I have now found out why (that or I am about to look very silly)

    We run with a 4 digit extension profile for the Fax is configured as default to 8888

    When I look in the logs, the FAX client is registering as 888

    This login info the client gets from the public_prstorage table in the 3CX database.

    All other entries for SIP ID's are updated correctly to the 4 digits except the FAX client....

    Bug?, looks like it to me..!!!

    I have tried editing the entry via an ODBC connection from Access but the record in not updateable....

    Anyone got any ideas?
     
  2. William400

    William400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Can you please confirm the version and build number you are running?
     
  3. landfiets

    landfiets New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you dial 8888 youself from a phone what do you hear?
    You can change the Fax Extensionnumbers. Maybe you have to change it in the general settings and then reboot.
     
  4. garrycarpenter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got the Fax service to show as 8888.... re-entered the fields submitted and rebooted...

    When I dail 8888 from an internal extension the call connects and drops almost stright away....

    Should I be able to hear anything?
     
  5. landfiets

    landfiets New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    No thats fine. So try to fax from another faxmachine (maybe internally) to number 8888, what happens?
     
  6. igor.snezhko

    igor.snezhko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have the same problem in version 5.0. Likely to be a bug.
     
  7. garrycarpenter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have now upgraded to 5.1 4510...

    can now place a call to a FAX DID, call is answered but fax machine does not transmit (have tried 3 fax machines). I do get an email now to tell me a fax call did come in but it tells me "No Fax was received. Call was either not from a fax machine, or else fax handshaking failed."

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  8. garrycarpenter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 2 NIC's one 10.0.3.1 the other 10.1.1.8
    10.1.1.8 - 255.0.0.0 is for external extensions, VOIP Client and Admin GUI Access
    10.0.3.1 - 255.255.255.0 is for all other traffic (gateway (VOIP Hardware Phones, etc.)

    FAX is configures as in FAQ for our Patton 4960.(10.0.3.254 - 255.255.255.0)
    FAX entries have been added to 3CX PhoneSystem.ini as in FAQ
    [Fax]
    serverHost = 10.0.3.1
    And system has been restarted.

    Using wireshark I can see that all T38 traffic outbound from 3CX is still trying to use 10.1.1.8 to reach the Patton.
    All voice calls work in all directions.
    Server is Version5.1.4510.0.

    Anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks
     
  9. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    41
    Please see this FAQ:

    http: //www.3cx.com/support/fax-multipleinterfaces/ - NO LONGER AVAILABLE. NEW LINK: http://www.3cx.com/pbx/voip-faq/

    Please check FAQs, many issues are documented in the FAQ section
     
  10. garrycarpenter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    AS I said.... I have followed and done that..........
     

Share This Page