Problem with outbound calls from remote phone using dyn.DNS.

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by robhazes, Mar 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. robhazes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using Linksys PAP2 as an external extension, logged in on my 3cx-system.
    I can call to this PAP2-phone, for instance from another external softphone connected to the same 3cx-system, all ok. This means the phone is registered.

    Making a call the other way does not work. I can not call from my PAP2, neither to another internal phone nor to an external phone.

    The IP-address of the 3cx system is dynamic, so I use dynamic DNS to be able to find my 3cx-system. This works fine, my PAP2 always registers with the 3cx-system.

    The error message at the 3cx-side is:
    Unidentified incoming call. Review INVITE and adjust source identification. etc

    When I, in "Line 1" section in the PAP2, change the Proxy-field from mydynamicdns.XXX (my dynamic DNS placeholder) to the actual IP address of the 3cx system it all works.

    Below som log-data from my 3cx system, first the call in the working direction, and then a call in opposite direction which fails.

    Global IP-address 66.166.166.55 and dynamic DNS placeholder mydynamicdns.XXX have been modified for safety-reasons.

    This call from remote internal 14 (3cx softphone) to remote internal 16 (analog phone on PAP2) works:

    23:58:24.375 [CM503008]: Call(64): Call is terminated

    23:58:24.359 [CM503008]: Call(64): Call is terminated

    23:58:22.625 [CM503007]: Call(64): Device joined: sip:16@66.166.166.55:51242

    23:58:22.609 [CM503007]: Call(64): Device joined: sip:14@127.0.0.1:56196;rinstance=e988eaedb8ffe0df

    23:58:14.390 [CM503024]: Call(64): Calling Ext:Ext.16@[Dev:sip:16@66.166.166.55:51242]

    23:58:14.171 [CM503004]: Call(64): Route 1: Ext:Ext.16@[Dev:sip:16@66.166.166.55:51242]

    23:58:14.140 [CM503001]: Call(64): Incoming call from Ext.14 to <sip:16@10.0.0.10:5060>


    This call in opposite direction fails:

    00:00:21.468 [CM503008]: Call(65): Call is terminated

    00:00:21.468 [CM502001]: Source info: From: "16"<sip:16@mydynamicdns.XXX>;tag=2dfbf6c3f613605co0<sip:14@mydynamicdns.XXX>

    00:00:21.468 [CM503013]: Call(65): Incoming call rejected, caller is unknown; msg=SipReq: INVITE 14@mydynamicdns.XXX tid=-cb78e2b9 cseq=INVITE contact=16@66.166.166.55:51242 / 102 from(wire)

    00:00:21.250 [CM500002]: Unidentified incoming call. Review INVITE and adjust source identification:

    INVITE sip:14@mydynamicdns.XXX SIP/2.0

    Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 66.166.166.55:51242;branch=z9hG4bK-2e1c7245;rport=51242

    Max-Forwards: 70

    Contact: "16"<sip:16@66.166.166.55:51242>

    To: <sip:14@mydynamicdns.XXX>

    From: "16"<sip:16@mydynamicdns.XXX>;tag=2dfbf6c3f613605co0

    Call-ID: ec4f780f-225eef80@192.168.2.10

    CSeq: 101 INVITE

    Expires: 240

    Allow: ACK, BYE, CANCEL, INFO, INVITE, NOTIFY, OPTIONS, REFER

    Supported: x-sipura, replaces

    User-Agent: Linksys/PAP2T-5.1.6(LS)

    Content-Length: 0

    00:00:21.250 [CM302001]: Authorization system can not identify source of: SipReq: INVITE 14@mydynamicdns.XXX tid=-2e1c7245 cseq=INVITE contact=16@66.166.166.55:51242 / 101 from(wire)

    Hope this might help to find out where the problem lies. Any suggestions?
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,371
    Likes Received:
    230
    Haven't set up a PAP2 before, but without seeing all of your settings, that it may something to do with how you have setup the options on the PAP2 to use STUN. You are using STUN, right? Are you data filing the Proxy setting and leaving the Outbound Proxy blank? Use outbound Proxy= No
     
  3. robhazes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using STUN. I use stun.3cx.com both on the PAP2 and the 3CX side.
    PAP2 setup Line 1:
    Proxy field: mydynamicdns.XXX
    Outbound Proxy field: blanc.
    Use Outbound Proxy: No
    Use OB Proxy in dialog: No

    I tried also with:
    Proxy field: mydynamicdns.XXX
    Outbound Proxy field: mydynamicdns.XXX
    Use Outbound Proxy: Yes
    Use OB Proxy in dialog: Yes

    None of these configurations solves the problem.
     
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,371
    Likes Received:
    230
    I use a dynDNS myself, so I know it works. I assume you read this...http://wiki.3cx.com/gateway-configuration/vendor-supported/linksys-pap2t

    Did you do a factory reset on the PAP2 before you started? This is especially important if the unit was previously used with another provider, or you've changed a number of settings and not made a record of them.

    In the SIP tab/NAT support Parameters/ Stun Enable=Yes, STUN Test Enable=Yes and the STUN server datafilled, everything else at defaults.

    In the Line tab (sorry, don't have a working Linksys device in front of me at the moment to compare options, so this is off the top of my head) you can try enabling the NAT Mapping Enable, if you have already enabled it, then turn it off to test.

    Here is a link to a setup Guide for the PAP2. It is meant for connection to another Provider but may be of some help if you see a glaring error in your settings. http://blog.2talk.co.nz/pap2t.html
     
  5. robhazes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, that is what I started off with.
    Then I used some suggestions from here:
    http://www.3cx.com/blog/voip-howto/home-phone-3cx/

    Yes, and I upgraded the firmware before I configured the PAP2.

    Yes, all as described.


    Tried this without result.

    Checked this and tried some of the port changes, suggested at the end, without result.

    Interesting problem... hope someone suddenly sees the solution...
     
  6. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,371
    Likes Received:
    230
    Tomorrow morning I will have a look at one of my SPA1001 setting and get back to you. There's not that much to getting it working, should be able to have one up and running in under 5 minutes.

    You could try a couple of things...disable STUN and put the PAP2 directly on the modem so that it gets a public IP (change it to use DHCP). What are you using in the DNS server(s) datafill? The IP of your router, or actual DNS servers? What make/model router are you using the PAP2 behind?

    Something else to read...http://www.3cx.com/blog/voip-howto/home-phone-3cx/
     
  7. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,371
    Likes Received:
    230
    OK, had a look at the setting in a SPA1001 I've been using for a number of years. It goes with me when i travel and has been very reliable. All of the settings are pretty basic. Stun set and enabled. Proxy (my dynDNS URL), username and password. NAT mapping enable=yes, Keep NAT Alive-yes. I have it set to use DHCP but have had the DNS server(s) put in manually in the past. This can be helpful if you plan on using the ATA in various locations behind unknown routers. Have you tried using the PAP2 at a different location (behind a different router)?
     
  8. robhazes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks.
    Because of this error message:
    00:00:21.250 [CM500002]: Unidentified incoming call. Review INVITE and adjust source identification
    I think it is not a connection problem, my remote phone finds the 3cx system, and also the call is registered on the 3cx side.

    The error message suggests I should change something, possibly on the 3cx-side, and probably the source identification. Did you make any changes on the 3cx-side?

    I have not tried behind a different router, but I use a softphone (through 3cx-tunnel) behind the same router, to the same 3cx-system and I can make outbound calls from there.
     
  9. mfm

    mfm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Please have a look at this document on such issues:

    http://www.3cx.com/blog/docs/source-identification-issues/
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,371
    Likes Received:
    230
    Isn't the invite problem because the extension is identifying itself as coming from mydynamicdns.XXX, rather than it's actual Public IP and port number? The Invite contact has, what I assume, is the public IP. the port number is odd though, it's usually 5060, or something in that range, same as used in the ATA.

    No, the extension that I use remotely is a duplicate of one registered at home.

    Given that it works correctly when you use the public IP of the 3Cx location (in the PAP2) and the Invite contains the DynDNS info that you've put in the PAP2 to direct it to 3CX, it would seem to me to point to a setting in the PAP2. The only thing that would confirm that is to try the PAP2 behind another router, different location, and see if you get the same results. You could also try it without a router (directly to the modem) using a public IP (DHCP,STUN disabled). It wouldn't be the first time that problems were caused by an incompatible router.
     
  11. robhazes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I find this help a bit cryptic. I checked the article, but I do not understand how it possibly can help me with this problem. Any suggestions?

    I tried directly behind the modem. It finds my 3cx-system, but no change, I can not make calls, just call to the phone.

    I tried from another network, actually from the same network as my 3cx-system. No, change, can call in, but not out.
     
  12. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,371
    Likes Received:
    230
    If you are using the PAP2 on the same network you shouldn't be using the DynDNS info in the proxy setting anyway, you would use the local IP of the PC running 3CX.

    Is this a PAP2-NA or a Vonage unit that has been unlocked? Have you had the PAP2 work successfully on the "home" LAN at all?

    If it were me, I would do a factory reset of the unit and then get it working on my home LAN first (use DHCP). Second, take it to a "remote" LAN but NOT behind a router, at this point you would have to substitute the public Ip of your router for the private IP in the proxy setting. If that works then try putting in the DynDNS string. See if that works. If it fails at that point then I would suspect that the PAP2 is, for some reason, is unable to connect properly with a DNS server to derive the IP of your DynDNS location. Solve that problem before you try setting it to use STUN from behind a router.
     
  13. robhazes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree on that, I am using 2 other PAP2 units in that way, working fine. I have now tested this unit on the local network with the 3cx-system and it works fine.

    It is a standard PAP2-NA unit, has not been locked. 2 other units work fine on the local network together with the 3cx system.


    I did that yesterday to be sure, and entered all setting anew. No change.

    Did that earlier, even behind the router. As soon as I enter the remote IP-address of the 3cx-system it works fine. When I enter the DYN DNS link, it fails.
     
  14. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,371
    Likes Received:
    230
    Are you sure that the DynDNS is correct? If you go to this site http://baremetal.com/cgi-bin/dnsip and type in your DynDNS, do you get the correct current IP (of your home router) back?
     
  15. robhazes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it returns the correct ip-address of my remote 3cx-system.
     
  16. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,371
    Likes Received:
    230
    Then you've got me. If it works with the IP address in the Proxy setting but doesn't with the DynDNS info, and that info is correct, then it sound like the PAP2, for some reason isn't getting the correct IP info when it does a DNS query. You may want to run Wireshark at the PAP2 end to get a clearer idea what is going on.
     
  17. robhazes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please explain. As far as I see it the PAP2 does find the 3CX-system correctly. 3CX actually registers that the PAP extension tries to make a call, but 3CX rejects the call.

    By the way: thanks for the patience 8)
     
  18. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Linksys/PAP2T-5.1.6(LS). Is this device supported by Linksys? I mean, does Linksys provides support for this device?

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,371
    Likes Received:
    230
    There is a setting in 3Cx to put in your local domain info. It wouldn't have anything to to with that not having the DyNDNS info would it? I'm pretty sure I have mine datafilled in there.
     
  20. robhazes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would think so, it's a brand-new unit, I just bought it some weeks ago.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.