Problems Loading 3CX to Cisco 79xx IP phone

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by dougclark, Sep 16, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dougclark

Hi there. I'm completely new to this software but am evaluating it as a solution for a friends small office environment.

I have a Cisco 7962 IP phone currently running SCCP firmware. From what i've read so far I understand that I can update the firmware on these phones to 3CX SIP firmware and have found the instructions to do so, but i seem to be missing something.

I am running the 3CX software on a Windows 8 platform, as I am evaluating it and dont have a Win 2008R2 platform to hand that it will finally be used on. I am using Solarwinds TFTP server, and have pointed the TFTP directory to the provisioning directory of the Cisco phone extention i created in the management console. I also downloaded the Cisco firmware from the 3CX site and extracted it to this directory.

I am not running a DHCP server (windows 8) so can't configure option 66, but have manually set the TFTP server on the phone to point to the computer running 3CX server. I have windows firewall disabled.

When I boot the Cisco phone it attempts to download firmware (as i can see traffic on the TFTP server console) but it is failing saying that it cannot find these files;

XMLDefault.cnf.xml
    SEP0026CB3D28F8.cnf.xml
    CTLSEP0026CB3D28F8.tlv

These look like the initial Cisco boot files. Can you tell me where I should get these from, or how I can generate them.

Many Thanks

2. pj3cx

pj3cx Active Member

Hi there,
    Unfortunately the Cisco 7962 is not supported by 3CX, the firmware files that can be found in the provisioning article http://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/cisco-7940g-7960g/ are for 7940/7941/7960/7961 only. This has not been tested on further models so we cannot guarantee it will work, furthermore our template files are also valid only for the said models.