provisioning a Polycom 330 or 550

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by nightwolf, Sep 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nightwolf

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know how to properly provision the Polycom phones so they work on the 3CX. Programming through the phone's web interface doesn't seem to do the trick. The guide mentions using 'DHCP option 66' but this seems to only apply if your 3CX is running on 2003 or 2008 server. I am using xp pro. Any suggestions?
     
  2. tpinnovations

    tpinnovations Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your using XP Pro, Then you wouldnt be able to use the OS as a DHCP server with out using third party software. DHCP Option 66 is normally set in your router, you will need to check if your router supports this.


    I am not 100% sure on the Polycoms, But from what I am reading it is similar to the linksys I work with.


    http://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/DHCP-option-66.html
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,915
    Likes Received:
    221
    V8 has Polycom provisioning built in and works great. The option 66 does not require a 2003 server, you need to have a DHCP server that you can change that option. An example has been provided for the Windows DHCP server....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Discovery Technology

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Nightwolf,

    The Polycom phones should be fine to be setup using the web GUI.

    At a very basic level, if you follow these instructions you should be able to at least get an extension going...

    Note: Don't enter in the 3CX Server IP address in the outbound proxy field as the Polycoms don't seem to like using this setting with 3CX...

    Browse to the phone IP and use the defaults Polycom and 456 (unless they've been changed on the handset)

    Navigate to the SIP option along the top of the web GUI

    Enter in your 3CX Server internal IP address in the Address field under "Server 1"
    Then navigate to the lines section, enter in your preferred display name, then enter in the extension number in the Address, Auth User ID fields, then enter in your extension password in the next field.

    Set the number of line keys you wish to enable for this extension (to be used in conjunction with use phone status in the extension busy settings) and lastly enter in the extension number again in the message center section and set your voicemail number for the callback contact field.

    There are plenty of other settings to play with, however if you start with those you should at least be able to make and pickup calls, then you can work from there.

    If you want to get into auto provisioning, here's a useful link on the Polycom website which has loads of documentation on how to set this up:

    http://www.polycom.com/support/voice/soundpoint_ip/soundpoint_ip330_320.html

    Hope this helps :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.