Provisioning**Discussion

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by comresource, Jun 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. comresource

    comresource Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally got a chance to look at v9. Lot of nice things but I still have a complaint.

    Please allow an option to NOT re-create the provisioning file when forwarding rules are changed. Forwarding has nothing to do with the provisioning file and this is still causing issues when custom phone specific entries are being provisioned.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    81
    Re: Provisioning

    Hi,

    The way the Extensions Page currently works is that if you have provisioning enabled on that extension, and in anywhere in the extension's page you press APPPLY or OK, settings in the "General" "Forwarding" "Phone Provisioning" "Other" "Office Hours" sections are all updated. This is for the user's convenience.

    The folder from in where provisioning files are placed is: C:\ProgramData\3CX\Data\Http\Interface\provisioning
    In order to achieve what you want to do with Custom Provisioning Files, the best way to do it is to create a new folder in the above folder and name it "Custom" and copy the provisioning files you want in there manually.

    So now when you are going to be provisioning your phones make sure they get the provisioning files from the new location and not the old one.

    Old Provisioning link:
    http://192.168.1.1:5481/provisioning/MAC.cfg


    New Provisioning link:
    http://192.168.1.1:5481/provisioning/Custom/MAC.cfg
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. comresource

    comresource Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Provisioning

    Yes, I am aware of the several ways to get around this "feature". The fact remains that this should NOT do this by default.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. uno1

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Provisioning

    I think you should not look at it as "feature", its just how the system works. We created custom templates which is, as far as i know the way to add custom templates to the system. The word Custom tells enough, editing system templates do not make them "custom" because it remains a system template for 3cX.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. comresource

    comresource Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Provisioning

    I would just like to be able to add an entry to a specific users provision file, for whatever reason....and not have to worry that when they change their forwarding rules (im going to lunch..forward my calls to cell)...that my entry, completely unrelated to forwarding, will be deleted.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. netwerkshop

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Provisioning

    I think I have the opposite problem.

    When I change forwarding rules, my custom template is not porcessed and No provisioning files are created.

    The only way I can make 3cx v9 process my custom provisioning template is by editing the user settings and pressing OK or APPLY.

    Very related:
    If I edit my custom template, and save it, and then process that edited template to create provisioning files, It does not include my latest changes.

    It seems that 3cx does not 'load' the newly edited template.

    If I restart all services the template is 'loaded' and when processed does produce the edited provisioning files.
    In 3cx v8 i could edit template --> save ---> process template(without any changes to extension settings) --> and the new provisioning files would be created, (including latest edit)

    Is this a bug or a feature? If a feature? Why?

    Cheers,
    Edo
     
  7. carolinainnovative

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    5
    Re: Provisioning

    I believe the behavior was changed in V9 RC1 - it now will NOT re-write the configuration files after a forwarding rule change. Use the "Reprovision Phones" button under the "Phones" menu.

    I spent the better part of yesterday afternoon editing templates in V9. Every time after I saved and went to Phones -> Reprovision Phones, the new files were created with my changes to the template. Try again using that button.


    **EDIT - RC1 - Sorry
     
  8. netwerkshop

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Provisioning

    Hi, I am running v9 rc1, didn't even know that rc2 was out.

    .. I also didn't know about the reprovision phones button in phone.. great help.

    However, it is still not working. 3cx does not reload the templates after editing them. When I edit a template, and reprovision, the edits do not appear in the newly generated files. If i restart all services, and then press reprovision, the edits do appear.
     
  9. comresource

    comresource Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Provisioning

    I just shed a tear of joy.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. carolinainnovative

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    5
    Re: Provisioning

    Oops - i was thinking I just upgraded from beta 2 to RC1 - so I meant RC1... sorry. (edited original post to match)
     
  11. carolinainnovative

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    5
    Re: Provisioning

    Silly question - are you editing the files from within 3cx or outside of 3cx? I'm not sure if it matters, but I figure I should ask.
     
  12. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,097
    Likes Received:
    142
    Re: Provisioning

    in the latest version we have implemented a fix based on this post that does not modify / reprovision the PHONES PROVISIONING files when the following sections are modified in the extension settings

    Forwarding rules
    3CXPhone Assistant provisioning
    Other
    Office hours

    This is confirmed and files remain untouched.

    What is the current status of this now? Also provisioning template files are not edited every day. So this fix should be enough not to have your options overwritten.

    It definitely matters.

    Edit of template is an administrative task. So this template has to be loaded again.
    So if you are editing from a text editor, after you save you have to restart the Webserver. Webserver needs to load this template so template.dll can generate your updates to the prov files. otherwise how it is going to know of the changes?
    If you are editing from the 3CX Management console, you get a basic editor which is not comfortable yes - but you dont need to restart.

    Winforms needs to be closed and opened again. No web service needs to be restarted in this case.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. netwerkshop

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Provisioning

    Thanks for the answer.

    Now I know how it works.

    Cheers
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.