Solved Provisioning send wrong IP adres for firmware update

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by janvm, Mar 5, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. janvm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I did set up a new 3CX system. After the basic setting i did change my lan IP adress. In the menu settings, parameters, i did change in all lines i could find my new ip adres. So i tought everithing is done.

    .... no this is not the case. If i cut a Phone from power and reboot it is stuck on the firmware update with the message "wrong update adress". My basic provisioning link is correct. If i look in the recieved setting for the firmware link i can see my old IP adres is in the firmware provisioning link.

    Any idea where i can change this setting to my existing IP adres.
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,360
    Likes Received:
    226
    If you go back through the forums (and not that long ago), some members have made changes to the internal settings when their public IP was changed. This is not the recommended way to do it, for the reasons you have discovered. The proper way is to... do a backup (or two), uninstall, re-install with the new IP, then apply the back-up.
     
  3. janvm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Leejor,
    Thanks for the fast responds. I did try to search the forums for a solution. My understanding was that for the Wan side the reinstall was necessaire (with backup of the config) but not for the lan side. I hoped there that a small adjustment was enough.
    I do the reinstall like you describe.

    Don't shoot me, but to be clear if i understand correctly, the reinstall is also neccasery if you do a WAN switch from no fix IP to a fix IP ? In a month the customer wil also switch to a fix IP. So i can prepare to a reinstall are just the wan setting.
     
  4. GiannosC_3CX

    GiannosC_3CX Guest

    Hi janvm,

    This has mentioned in many topics in the forum and the answer still remains the same. The only way to ensure that all parameters have been changed is by creating a backup without license and FQDN un-installing and re-installing using the backup you created.
    There are settings that are not included in the custom parameters of the PBX and may or may not cause you issues in the future. This for when the LAN IP changes.
    Regarding Wan IP, you can change the public IP without the above procedure (create backup - reinstall etc...). If you need to change your public IP you can go to setting => network => click on dynamic Public IP and save, then you need to restart all the services. When the pbx come back, you can go to the network again and click on the static Public IP and fill the box with the new IP, next save and restart all the services. You could visit this link https://www.3cx.com/3cxacademy/videos/basic/installing/ and this https://www.3cx.com/docs/manual/installation-windows/ to find more information.
     
  5. janvm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the explanation. No i know what to do.
     
  6. janvm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hallo,

    It is been some time. I did follow all the points that where discussed to resolve this problem. So a reinstall 3CX and set the backup back. But even than the provisioning link is ok but not the firmware link. Each time the power is interupted the Snom Phone is rebooted. In this reboot the provisionng works fine. After the provisioning he gets a link for the firmware update. This link is not correct. The firmware IP adress from the previous installation is stil in use. How can i solve this ? Is there a setting to overide this. a reinstall is not helping. And yes i did only take a backup without license and FQDN for the re-installing.

    Any idea ??
     
  7. complex1

    complex1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    38
    Hi Jan,

    I looks like the provioning file which is sent to the phone is corrupt somehow.
    Have you tried to delete and re-create the extension belonging to the phone already?
    Then re-provision the phone with the new provisioning file.

    Hope this helps.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. janvm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,Complex1
    Frank,

    This make sence. To recreate all extensions this could take some time. Is there a location that i can view the provisioning file and adjust the firmware forwarding manually
    I will try your suggestion for 1 extension as a test. Keep you posted
     
  9. janvm

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    some extra info: parts from the snom log. So far i can see is this generated from the 3CX template


    The provisioning is send by server 192.168.2.31:
    Mar 19 18:12:13.934 [ALERT ] PHN: read_old_settings: No /snom/snomconfig/raw_settings found for reading.
    Mar 19 18:12:14.012 [NOTICE] PHN: read_xml_settings: found phone-settings XML header
    Mar 19 18:12:14.013 [NOTICE] PHN: read_xml_settings: found one byte encoding: 0
    Mar 19 18:12:14.013 [DEBUG2] PHN: settings::read_one_setting: language = 'Nederlands', set.need_apply: 0, finished: 0, need reboot to apply: 0
    Mar 19 18:12:14.014 [DEBUG2] PHN: settings::read_one_setting: setting_server = 'http://192.168.2.31:5000/provisioning/57mi4ewywkf/cfg{mac}', set.need_apply: 1, finished: 0, need reboot to apply: 0
    Mar 19 18:12:14.014 [DEBUG2] PHN: settings::read_one_setting: ip_adr = '192.168.2.172', set.need_apply: 1, finished: 0, need reboot to apply: 0
    Mar 19 18:12:14.015 [DEBUG2] PHN: settings::read_one_setting: netmask = '255.255.255.0', set.need_apply: 1, finished: 0, need reboot to apply: 0
    Mar 19 18:12:14.016 [DEBUG2] PHN: settings::read_one_setting: update_server = 'http://192.168.2.31:5000/provisioning/57mi4ewywkf/cfg{mac}', set.need_apply: 1, finished: 0, need reboot to apply: 0
    Mar 19 18:12:14.017 [DEBUG2] PHN: settings::read_one_setting: dns_server1 = '192.168.2.1', set.need_apply: 0, finished: 0, need reboot to apply: 0
    Mar 19 18:12:14.017 [DEBUG2] PHN: settings::read_one_setting: gateway = '192.168.2.1', set.need_apply: 1, finished: 0, need reboot to apply: 0




    The part of firmware update: refering to fault IP adres 192.168.2.126
    Mar 19 18:12:14.273 [NOTICE] PHN: read_xml_settings: found firmware-settings XML header
    Mar 19 18:12:14.273 [NOTICE] PHN: read_xml_settings: found one byte encoding: 0
    Mar 19 18:12:14.274 [INFO ] PHN: ProvisioningReplacements: URL >http://192.168.1.126:5000/provisioning/57mi4ewywkf/firmware/snom/snom715-8.9.3.57-SIP-r.bin<
    Mar 19 18:12:14.277 [DEBUG0] PHN: Uri Replace >{mac}< in >http://192.168.1.126:5000/provisioning/57mi4ewywkf/firmware/snom/snom715-8.9.3.57-SIP-r.bin<
    Mar 19 18:12:14.277 [DEBUG0] PHN: Uri Replaced result: >http://192.168.1.126:5000/provisioning/57mi4ewywkf/firmware/snom/snom715-8.9.3.57-SIP-r.bin<
    Mar 19 18:12:14.277 [DEBUG0] PHN: ReplaceQueryVariables in >http://192.168.1.126:5000/provisioning/57mi4ewywkf/firmware/snom/snom715-8.9.3.57-SIP-r.bin<
    Mar 19 18:12:14.278 [DEBUG0] PHN: ReplaceQueryVariables replaced: >http://192.168.1.126:5000/provisioning/57mi4ewywkf/firmware/snom/snom715-8.9.3.57-SIP-r.bin<
    Mar 19 18:12:14.278 [DEBUG2] PHN: settings::read_one_setting: firmware = 'http://192.168.1.126:5000/provisioning/57mi4ewywkf/firmware/snom/snom715-8.9.3.57-SIP-r.bin', set.need_apply: 0, finished: 0, need reboot to apply: 0
    Mar 19 18:12:14.281 [DEBUG0] PHN: apply_value: codec_priority_list = 'g722,pcmu,pcma,amr-0,amrwb-0,gsm,g723,g726-32,aal2-g726-32,g729,telephone-event', set.need_apply: 0, finished: 0, need reboot to apply: 0
    Mar 19 18:12:14.282 [DEBUG0] PHN: apply_value: codec_priority_list = 'g722,pcmu,pcma,amr-0,amrwb-0,gsm,g723,g726-32,aal2-g726-32,g729,telephone-event', set.need_apply: 0, finished: 0, need reboot to apply: 0
    Mar 19 18:12:14.282 [DEBUG0] PHN: apply_value: codec_priority_list = 'g722,pcmu,pcma,amr-0,amrwb-0,gsm,g723,g726-32,aal2-g726-32,g729,telephone-event', set.need_apply: 0, finished: 0, need reboot to apply: 0
    Mar 19 18:12:14.283 [NOTICE] PHN: Disabling core dump succeeded
     
  10. GiannosC_3CX

    GiannosC_3CX Guest

    Hi janvm,

    Please check your inbox, I have sent you a p.m.
     
  11. GiannosC_3CX

    GiannosC_3CX Guest

    Hi all,

    What janvm said.

    "Problem solved !!!!!

    The exact solution i can replicate exactly but following was done:
    - downgrade to older firmware.
    - take more time to boot up the 3cx server before starting up the phones
    - after first boot up error swf boot problem message : execute retry swf update"

    After all of this there is no problem anymore.
    "
     
    janvm likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.