Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Provisioning VVX 400 Remotely - V15 on GCP

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Brady Webb, Oct 8, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brady Webb

Hey Everyone,

I'm trying to provision a polycom vvx400 on 5.4.4 with the correct option 66 string and I'm unable to get my phone to download the config file. In the logs for the phone itself it was noted that the server didn't have the mac.cfg file. Has anyone else experienced this? I'm not new to VoIP, but I am new to the 3cx platform. Background is broadsoft based systems so forgive me if there are certain assumptions I'm making.

-Thank you!

2. StefanW

StefanW Head of Customer Support and Training
    Staff Member 3CX Support

Hey Brady,

when you say "remotely" what is your intention? VPN between the phone's network and the PBX?

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Brady Webb

Stefan,

If possible I'd like to have it over the WAN. We have a couple remote offices and don't have site-to-site tunnels setup. Is this a requirement for the provisioning process or is there any way to use the instance hostname for option66 (mycompany.3cx.us) and have the phones grab provisioning files over the WAN?

Thank you!

4. Saqqara

Saqqara Well-Known Member

5. Brady Webb

Saqqara,

I don't have an SBC running at my house where the phone is. I do have a firewall but it's configured to allow sip/http/ftp traffic to the 3cx instance. The unit is configured with a Static IP, not using STUN, would that have a difference on the deployment? and Once the phones are deployed, will they always need to be on the site-to-site vpn or can we provision once and then let them go?

Thank you!

6. StefanW