Provisioning with Multiple Ports

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by TheInternship, Dec 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheInternship

I'm an intern working on my company's phone system. It's on the SPA-525/G2 model and System 12. I've already done a template for most phones but what I was wondering is if someone's IP address has multiple ports(Like they might have a phone for Sales or Support) would provisioning their original phone mess any of that up?

2. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member

I'm not clear on what you are asking but can hopefully provide an answer that will suffice.

Sets with the same extension number can exist on different IP's but the extension settings(in 3CX) must allow calls to more than one set at at time...use the busy status of the set rather than the busy status of the extension number (PBX).

If you are talking about auto provisioning of a set, this usually makes use of the unique MAC address of an individual set using a file that contains that MAC number, so ....one set, one provisioning file.

There could be other interactions between sets sharing common features, ring groups, call pick-up, etc.. You would have to be a bit more specific in what you are intending to do, and hoping to avoid.

3. TheInternship

Sorry I'm new at all of this. What I mean is that there are some IP addresses of phones that have multiple ports. So it would be like xxx.xxx.xxx.xx:5060...5061.. and so on. The 5061 port would be for something like Support or Sales that is with another persons phone. If I provisioned the 5060 IP address with my custom template would it affect the other lines?

4. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member

If you are editing a template that is used to create provisioning files for more than one set, then you may run into problems. If you are unsure, create a couple of back-ups of the original template (on a USB stick) before you change anything.