PSTN Gateway

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by impaddy, Jun 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. impaddy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Linksys SPA3102 gateway. I am having great trouble getting it to work, I have followed the configuration guide on the 3CX website numerous times to no avail. The device registers but when I attempt to make a call out the following entries in the log are displayed.


    09:36:53.009 [CM503016]: Call(4): Attempt to reach <sip:907917926778@192.168.2.40> failed. Reason: Server Failure

    09:36:53.007 [CM503003]: Call(4): Call to sip:907917825078@192.168.2.156:5062 has failed; Cause: 503 Service Unavailable; from IP:192.168.2.156:5062

    09:36:52.944 [CM503025]: Call(4): Calling PSTNline:907917926778@(Ln.10000@Outside Line)@[Dev:sip:10000@192.168.2.156:5062]

    09:36:52.943 [MS210002] C:4.2:Offer provided. Connection(transcoding mode): 192.168.2.40:7010(7011)

    09:36:52.913 [CM503004]: Call(4): Route 1: PSTNline:907917926778@(Ln.10000@Outside Line)@[Dev:sip:10000@192.168.2.156:5062]

    09:36:52.913 [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:907917926778@192.168.2.40>

    09:36:52.912 [MS210000] C:4.1:Offer received. RTP connection: 192.168.2.148:16394(16395)

    09:36:52.910 Remote SDP is set for legC:4.1

    09:36:52.910 [CM505001]: Ext.100: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: Cisco;Mod: SPA Series;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, unable-no-sdp, no-recvonly] UserAgent: [Cisco/SPA501G-7.4.3a] PBX contact: [sip:100@192.168.2.40:5060]

    09:36:52.892 [CM503001]: Call(4): Incoming call from Ext.100 to <sip:907917926778@192.168.2.40>

    09:36:52.888 [CM500002]: Info on incoming INVITE:
     
  2. mfm

    mfm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    2
    First off i suggest you use a supported device such as a grandstream or Patton.

    Secondly the problem is arisising from the device itself as it is giving a 503 error. I strongly suggest you change device as you will recieve little support from the community with this.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. davidbenwell

    davidbenwell Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Mark

    The Linksys SPA3102 gateway was on the supported list, but you seem to have removed this.

    is there any reason why?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. impaddy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was using it because it was listed as supported and also recommended to me by the 3CX recommendation tool.
     
  5. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    This is something else, not the SPA3102 - I've installed plenty of them (over 100), with various IP PBXs, not only 3CX.
    The SPA-3102 most probably is not anymore on the list of supported devices, because of recent 'strategic' agreement with Grandstream. However it is still much more reliable than Grandstream's FXO gateways.

    Try factory resetting the SPA-3102 and re-provision it or configure it manually according the 3CX guidelines. Make sure you have the latest firmware (nevertheless I can't find a difference with older) and appropriate settings for your PSTN provider (search forums, if available).

    See the following links:

    http://www.3cx.com/voip-gateways/
    http: //www.3cx.com/voip-gateways/linksys-3102-provisioning/ - NO LONGER AVAILABLE
    http://www.3cx.com/voip-gateways/linksys-3102/ - NO LONGER AVAILABLE

    BR
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Orlin,

    SPA3102 has never been supported because even the manufacturer doesn't support it...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Cjay

    Cjay New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's still a great device though, does everything (for me, very reliably) for a modest price!

    The error:
    can be caused by something as simple as the PSTN line either not being properly connected to the FXO port, the line being busy or the line voltage being below the off-hook threshold. Log into the 3102 and see what the PSTN line status (right down the bottom of the INFO tab) reports.
     
  8. complex1

    complex1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    39
    http://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/ Here you can read which SIP Phones are supported by 3CX Phone System for Windows (Preferred, Supported and Tested)

    This is a copy of the webpage
    SIP Phone Configuration Guides (Preferred)

    3CXPhone for Android (Provisioned)
    3CXPhone for iPhone
    3CXPhone for Windows
    CISCO SPA 501G, 502G, 504G, 508G, 509G, 525G (Manual configuration)
    CISCO SPA 501G, 502G, 504G, 508G, 509G, 525G (Provisioned)
    How to auto-provision IP phones with DHCP 'option 66'
    GrandStream GXP-1450, 2110, 2120 and GXP 2100 (Provisioned)

    SIP Phone Configuration Guides (Supported)

    GrandStream GXP-2000 (Manual configuration)
    GrandStream GXP-2000, 280, 1200, GXP 2010 and GXP-2020 (Provisioned)
    GrandStream HandyTone 386 ATA
    GrandStream HandyTone 486(487),286(287) ATA
    Linksys 3102 ATA and Fax - T38 Fax Pass-through
    Linksys SPA 901, 921, 941, 922, 942, 962 (Manual configuration)
    Linksys SPA 901, 921, 941, 922, 942, 962(Provisioned)
    Polycom KIRK Wireless Server 300
    Polycom SoundPoint IP 320, 321, 330, 331, 430, 450, 550, 560, 650, 670 (Manual configuration)
    Polycom SoundPoint IP 320, 321, 330, 331, 430, 450, 550, 560, 650, 670(Provisioned)
    Polycom SoundStation IP6000
    Yealink T20, T22, T26, T28 (Manual configuration)
    Yealink T20, T22, T26, T28 (Provisioned)

    SIP Phone Configuration Guides (Tested)

    Aastra (67)51i, (67)53i, (67)55i, (67)57i (Manual configuration)
    AAstra (67)51i, (67)53i, (67)55i, (67)57i (Provisioned)
    Aastra SIP-DECT
    CISCO 7940
    Counterpath Bria
    Linksys SPA-901
    Nokia E65 / E71 / N95
    Siemens C470IP
    Snom 300, 320, 360, 370, 820, 821, 870 (Manual configuration)
    Snom 300, 320, 360, 370, 820, 821, 870 (Provisioned)
    SNOM M3
    X-Lite 3.0
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes Stepan, unfortunately this is true.

    At time the company manufacturing them was called Sipura, later acquired by Linksys, a division of Cisco Systems, nowadays just Cisco. I have the feeling the support was better during Sipura times, now Cisco is not updating firmware anymore, etc. New models (SPA-1xx ?) are coming, going to replace SPA-2102 and SPA-3102, at least according rumors.

    However, I still think this is the best FXO gateway on the market (and better than the original SPA-3000, thanks to Cisco/Linksys). I've installed my first SPA-3000 in 2005. I have installed SPA-3102 with various IP PBXs, including 3CX systems, mainly for integrating analog GSM gateways and PSTN lines in remote locations (cheapest possible solutions). SPA-8800 is the same experience, nevertheless it is priced unreasonably higher than 4x SPA-3102. SPA-400 (4x FXO ports) is not available anymore, nevertheless I have installed it with 3CX also and it worked fine.

    Kind regards,
    Orlin.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,570
    Likes Received:
    247
    I've got 5 working with no issues whatsoever, (I find them extremely reliable and flexible) along with an older 3000 (both FXO and FXS working simultaneously on all). I have not seen any issues that could not be overcome with the correct settings. Some people have had echo issues with them but, besides the wrong settings, that can also be brought on by an external problem with the phone lines or PSTN equipment.

    I've actually had a couple of Grandstream devices fail (to the point they had to be thrown away, er..."recycled") on me, but never a Sipura/Linksys.Cisco ATA/gateway.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.