Questions from a confused newboy

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by ryan, Aug 27, 2007.

  1. ryan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all - I know its my first post and I apologise its a 'how do I' one!

    I set this all up on my home network it all went really well.
    As I don't have my PC on all the time, I bought a windows VPS to see if I can set it up and I have come to a halt!

    The setup I have at the moment is as below:

    "Image not found"

    I have opened a few ports on the windows VPS firewall, but I still can't get it going.

    If I dial out using a VoIP provider (set up voip talk), the remote phone rings and they can hear me, but I get no ringing sound on my headset and cannot hear them.

    When I dial extension to extension, the remote (PC2) rings fine, no ring tone on my headset (PC1) and the call is dropped after a few seconds.

    I am guessing I haven't done some port forwarding / firewall opening somewhere but after an hour I am stuck!

    Any help appreciated - by the way, brilliant software!!

    Ryan

    EDIT: Forgot to say that I am using the 3CX softphone for testing as well
     
    #1 ryan, Aug 27, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 23, 2017
  2. gbarnes

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    VPS and 3cx

    Hi Ryan,

    Looking at your diagram, I think I can see what is happening.

    You have control port working, to VPS (5060)

    You have outward RTP UDP port working to VPS (90xx)

    You do not have inbound RTP (90xx) returning
    Set up router for inbound 9000-90xx and route to local network a-b

    You may have to check box (extension is external) on extensions setup

    Use STUN to send IP address to VPS on softphones.
     
  3. gbarnes

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Addition

    I think the first step would be to try to get your extensions calling each other then progress from there.

    Let me know how your doing.

    Graeme.
     
  4. ryan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try 2

    Cheers for the replies guys.....new layout as below, still no better :(
    My strongpoint is not firewalls / forwarding as you may see :D

    Latest network:

    "Image not found"


    Like I said, behind the firewall on some home computers I got everything up and going within an hour, got the VPS and development is a tad slower!

    Cheers
    Ryan (who is feeling a tad stupid about now ;))
     
  5. gbarnes

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Getting there?

    Rtp ports should really be even numbers, and probably about 10 per station just in case.

    What about maybee opening 5060 also?

    So thats

    IP1 ---- 9000 - 9011
    IP2 ---- 9012 - 9022
    SIP 5060

    External extensions click on extensions--->setup--->extension is external?

    Extensions working?
     
  6. ryan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    IP1 7 IP2 now set as you have stated, 5060 open.
    Nothing now - in fact less than before (I have deleted anything to do with voiptalk that I had configured as well)

    Ext 100 calls 101, no ringing on 101, 100 drops after a few seconds, same the other way round as well.

    I cannot see what I have done hugely wrong :S
     
  7. ryan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just looked in the logs and am now seeing these errors:

    [MS105000] Call(2) Ext.101: No RTP packets were received on 00000003@:remoteAddr=192.168.0.30:5063,extAddr=77.74.198.156:9004,localAddr=0.0.0.0:9004

    Hope that helps someone :s
     
  8. ryan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorted the RTP thing out but I dont hear anything now - no ringing tone, no voice mail prompts and if i dial an assitant I don't hear the 'Press 1 for....' message I put up there.

    I didn't think it would be this difficult on a VPS :(

    All looks fine in the logs, no errors reported but I still can't talk / hear anything.

    EDIT: I get an email from the system with voicemail attached with me speaking!!!! So how come I cannot hear anything whilst in a call, but the system can hear me enough t osort a voicemail - I just dont hear anything, voice, prompts :(
     
  9. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    It is not an error. It is information provided by program. Hope that helps you...

    Regards :)
     
  10. ryan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Starting to rip the remaining hair from my head now!

    PC1 (192.168.0.252) - behind router at home (Ext 100)
    PC2 (192.168.0.30) - behind router at home (Ext 101)

    Ports open on home router:

    INT_TO_RY 7000 7001(UDP) 192.168.0.252
    INT_TO_LAPPY 7002 7003(UDP) 192.168.0.30
    RTP_TO_RY 10000 11000(TCP/UDP) 192.168.0.252
    RTP_TO_LAPPY 11001 20000(TCP/UDP) 192.168.0.30
    EXT_TO_RY 9000 9009(TCP/UDP) 192.168.0.252
    EXT_TO_LAPPY 9010 9019(TCP/UDP) 192.168.0.30


    The 3CX system is on a Windows VPS behind th Windows Firewall with the following ports open:

    3CX Web Front End - 5481 TCP
    External Calls - 9000 -> 9019 UDP
    Internal Calls - 7000 -> 7003 UDP
    Media Server - 5482 UDP & TCP
    Postgres - 5480 UDP & TCP
    SIP - 5060 UDP
    Stun Server - 3478 UDP

    Both extensions register fine and are marked as external.

    When EXT 100 calls EXT 101, nothing happens on 101, and 100 drops to voicemail although no ringing is heard on the calling or receiving phone.
    Although I cannot hear any voicemail prompts, the syetsm sends me an email with the attached voicemail in which I can hear myself talking!

    Any further suggestions?

    Before I forget, here are the logs:

    23:54:50.814 ServRegs::eek:nRemove [CM113003] Unregistered: Ext.101
    23:51:04.705 ListenConnect [CM114000] SL: connected CENTUS:0/PHPExtension_0 at [CENTUS]/PHPExtension_0
    23:43:51.923 StratInOut::eek:nHangUp [CM104007] Call(2): Call from Ext.101 to 100 has been terminated by Ext.101; cause: CANCEL; from IP:62.31.86.139
    23:43:40.877 CallConf::eek:nIncoming [CM103002] Call(2): Incoming call from 101 (Ext.101) to sip:100@cetus.voiplite.co.uk
    23:43:31.595 StratInOut::eek:nHangUp [CM104007] Call(1): Call from Ext.100 to 101 has been terminated by Ext.100; cause: CANCEL; from IP:62.31.86.139
    23:43:15.502 CallConf::eek:nIncoming [CM103002] Call(1): Incoming call from 100 (Ext.100) to sip:101@cetus.voiplite.co.uk
    23:43:06.033 ServRegs::eek:nAdd [CM113002] Registered: Ext.101
    23:42:53.361 ServRegs::eek:nRemove [CM113003] Unregistered: Ext.101
    23:42:07.033 ServRegs::eek:nAdd [CM113002] Registered: Ext.100

    From the logs everything looks perfect apart from there is no sound from either my machine or the laptop I am using as hte second account, nothing at all - no ringing, no voicemail prompts and no 'Press 1 for sales' etc messages from the assistant function.

    Hope there is enough detail above for people to go 'Ah, I see you problem' - I have been through the manual a couple of times checking ports etc but alas, my hair is being pulled out even faster than before!!!

    If someone needs access to the VPS then fine!

    Many thanks
    Ryan
     
  11. Mirzab

    Mirzab Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    For my two cents worth (if so much) :)

    I just breezed through the thread - I presume you also have 5060-61 and 3478 open on the home router side also?

    from thread http://www.3cx.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1697&highlight=ports+sticky has lots of info.

    On the Server side it seems OK except for the RTP (UDP) range. I am not familiar with VPS so would ask - is the Windows firewall the only control point between the VPS and the internet? Just to make sure you are setting the proper ports in the right place.

    Last question just for personal interest if you don't mind - why bother running 3CX on a VPS that can't be cheap? Any old half-decent PC will do the job great on the home LAN with no complications.

    Good Luck! :lol:
     
  12. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    Only one detail is absent - "the logs everything looks perfect apart from there is no sound from either my machine or the laptop".

    For example:
    [MS105000] Call(2) Ext.101: No RTP packets were received on 00000003@:remoteAddr=192.168.0.30:5063,extAddr=77.74.198.156:9004,localAddr=0.0.0.0:9004
    192.168.0.30 - local address of your extension.
    77.74.198.156 - public IP of server.
    problem in configuration of extensions working in the HOME NETWORK.
    Configure them to provide global IP, I mean force them to use NAT traversal(STUN) to discover global address and use it in negotiations with PBX

    Regards
     
  13. tjabaut

    tjabaut New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not answering about the functionality but rather as a network engineers what are all you people talking about?

    From the home side he is not hosting a thing and therefore does not need to open ANY ports. A standard practice of all firewalls (software or hardware) by default is that anything originating from his trusted network (ie his home network with his phone) will be allowed outbound. He will then communicate with a STUN server and ports will be opened and mapped dynamically.

    I can tell you that I connect from my laptop through hotspots, home, wherever to my office network 3CX and you can be sure that the hotspots do not have ANY ports opened up incoming.

    STUN is your friend in this case.
     
  14. tjabaut

    tjabaut New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    You stated the following:

    The 3CX system is on a Windows VPS behind th Windows Firewall with the following ports open:

    3CX Web Front End - 5481 TCP
    External Calls - 9000 -> 9019 UDP
    Internal Calls - 7000 -> 7003 UDP
    Media Server - 5482 UDP & TCP
    Postgres - 5480 UDP & TCP
    SIP - 5060 UDP
    Stun Server - 3478 UDP

    1) Why would you open the Stun Server port (unless you are actually running your own STUN server)?

    2) Why are you opening ports 7000-7003? These ports are only for internally communicating with Gateway devices.

    3) What is the purpose of exposing Postgres? This is the database engine that 3CX uses. It has no purpose to be exposed to the outside world and actually increases your attack surface unless it is locked down by VPN.

    I would ask first are your phones even registered with 3CX? As long as they are registered then the communication channels between phone and 3CX have been established. This is the purpose of SIP to establish and proxy the call setup/teardown.
     
  15. ryan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, come back from work and see all these replies!!

    Right, in order I hope I will reply to all:

    Mirzab - Thanks for the pointers, I will recheck the RTP ports and yes, the windows firewall is the only thing on the VPS. As for the VPS, I don't have a PC on 24 x 7 and I had a great deal on the Windows VPS :) I also want to set it up so my family in the States can use it to chat with the rest of us in the UK.

    SY - I solved theRTP problem by using STUN (stun.3cx.com), so the routable IP addresses are now detected not the internal ones.

    tjabaut - Thanks, will try without any ports open on my home router thing as well as checking the STUN settings on the softphones. As for the pors I have opened up, after several hours of trying to figure the problem out I was grasping at straws and trying anything!

    The phones register fine, green in the line status and when I dial out you can see the status change to calling etc so the connections are fine, just no audio anywhere!

    Cheers guys, think I will have another few hours with it this evening.

    Ryan
     
  16. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tim,

    Respect to you, you have clearly described almost everything, except selected thing. (probably I just interpret it incorrect :) )

    So,
    PBX allow user to define range of ports that will be used by PBX for communications on local host(host where 3CX is running). It means that outgoing RTP packets will be send from these ports and will be declared as destination for incoming RTP streams to other party. It allow user to have strictly defined information regarding what is used by application(PBX).

    1. Local port range.
    Those ports are used by PBX as a destination and/or a source for intercommunication with the interlocutors those are resided in the LAN. It means no any NAT in-between.
    2. External port range.
    Almost the same but for those connections STUN will be engaged (as a result the NAT(firewall) as well) and NAT(firewall) devices should take care about mapping/forwarding/etc(blocking/filtration/etc) traffic for PBXhostIP:extPort destination/source.

    That's all :)

    Regards
     
  17. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ryan,

    I cannot catch, whether you solved RTP problem or not?

    Thanks :)
     
  18. ryan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    SY,

    Sorry - was rushing the last post. I believe I have sorted the RTP problem as my external IP address now shows in the logs so thats ok. All I am missing now is audio - anywhere!!!

    Ry
     
  19. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    It is quotation from one of my previous post.

    I meant a log provided by PBX. (all of them :) )

    Regards
     
  20. ryan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah sorry - my misunderstanding not yours!

    Right, deleted all ports on my home router and the following are open on the Windows VPS:

    5481 TCP
    9000 - 9019 UDP
    5482 TCP / UDP
    5060 UDP

    Both phones register fine - softphones show registered and line status show the 2 extensions as registered.

    When I try to call from PC1 IP: 192.168.0.252, Extension 100) to the laptop (192.168.0.30, Extension 101) it looks like its is working but the laptop shows no incoming calls. To eleiminate things I got rid of voicemail settings so the call just rings

    The logs are:

    19:44:46.579 CallConf::Rejected [CM103005] Call(18) is rejected: Destination is not answering
    19:44:46.579 StratInOut::eek:nCancel [CM104008] Call(18): Call from Ext.100 to 101 terminated; cause: 408 Request Timeout; internal
    19:44:46.579 CallTarget::create [CM005001] Forward loop detected for destination 101Forward history:{101}
    19:44:14.204 CallConf::eek:nIncoming [CM103002] Call(18): Incoming call from 100 (Ext.100) to sip:101@cetus.voiplite.co.uk

    Both extensions are marked as external and Bind To Media Server is also checked.


    If I get one extension to dial the assistant (ext 800), looks like its working but no audio, the logs being:

    19:46:49.626 StratInOut::eek:nHangUp [CM104007] Call(19): Call from Ext.101 to 800 has been terminated by Ext.101; cause: BYE; from IP:62.31.86.139
    19:46:33.126 CallLegImpl::eek:nConnected [CM103001] Call(19): Created audio channel for Ext.101 (62.31.86.139:5063) with Media Server (77.74.198.156:9014)
    19:46:33.016 CallConf::eek:nIncoming [CM103002] Call(19): Incoming call from 101 (Ext.101) to sip:800@cetus.voiplite.co.uk

    Sorry about all the new boy questions, I just want to crack the problem as I think this software is brilliant!

    Ryan
     

Share This Page