Quick Distinguishing Question

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Cory P, Apr 5, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cory P

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    So in our 3CX management console, under Extensions we have a list of all of the users and which extension that have assigned, and so on and so forth.

    But I have always been curious as to the meaning between the red extensions and the black extensions, such as 3511 shown below, and if it serves a purpose, what causes it, if they should or shouldn't be one.

    I tried to do a bit of searching, but I wouldn't even know where to begin on the chracteristics for what it may be called so I figured reaching out may be the best option.

    [​IMG]

    Thank you,
     
  2. cadbrowne

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a guess, since you don't show any other columns, but on our system, at least - black are soft phones, and red are actual physical phones.
     
  3. Cory P

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I figured it might have been a universal thing. Since I'm certain it doesn't distinguish between hard or soft phone, here is a screenshot of our extension page (blacking out basically personal info).

    Maybe this helps a bit more. Or let me know if more information may need to be provided.

    Thanks,

    [​IMG]
     
  4. cadbrowne

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have a column for firmware version?
     
  5. Cory P

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not in the 'Extension' tab. In the 'Phone' tab it does show firmware version and the User ID corresponds with their extension.

    But for example, with Extensions 3510 and 3511, one is red, one is black, but they are on the same firmware of 7.5.2b

    [​IMG]
     
  6. JasonNadeau

    JasonNadeau Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    46
    could be because they have weak registration passwords.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,750
    Likes Received:
    285
    I think that it is because "something" is considered insecure, and should be changed. If you look through the settings for a particular extension, the item of concern should also be red.
     
  8. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,016
    Likes Received:
    421
    Hello @Cory P
    extensions become red for 3 reason, one is un-supported firmware the other is custom templates and the third is security.
    Are these manually configured extensions or did you use the provisioning link of the PBX?
    Is this a fresh install of V15 or did you come from an upgrade from previous version?
     
  9. Cory P

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    The extensions are manually configured.
    And it was a fresh install of Version 14, and is still Version 14.

    It seems to be caused by the SIP ID. When I have the SIP ID set to the same as my extension, then the user is red. When the SIP ID is removed, it reverts back to black. Every user who does not have a SIP ID does not appear to be red.

    Can I have some clarification what the SIP ID actually is?

    Thank you,
     
    #9 Cory P, Jul 6, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2017
  10. mortenjorge

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi Cory,

    The SIP Id can be used as a shortcut.. Meaning that if you give extension 1218 the SIP id of "2", then you'll be able to dial 2 and ext 1218 will ring :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Cory P likes this.
  11. Cory P

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    So currently, say extension 3566 is assigned SIP ID 3566. If I remove this, it breaks the connection to the handset and disconnects it from the system. I'm still doing some tinkering, but haven't been successful in making the extensions turning from red to black while attempting to remove the SIP ID and keeping the phone from disconnecting.

    Any tips/suggestions would help, but I will keep progressing myself.

    Thanks!
     
  12. mortenjorge

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ohh.. Are you talking about the SIP ID under "Options" in extension settings or the ID under the Registration settings?

    the SIP ID is the one, used in "options" and was the one i was talking about..

    Are thoose 2 the same in your settings? or do you use a week password?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Cory P

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah. I've been referring to it within Extensions. In regards to 'Registration settings' I'm not 100% sure what you mean for as to what they match too. Below, when I open my extension, I see this red box and that is why I presume it to be the SIP ID and not a weak password. I even tested updating the passwords to a farfetched length of characters and that did not change the red/black issue.

    upload_2017-7-6_10-55-4.png
     
  14. mortenjorge

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi Cory,

    If you remove the SIP id, you just attached with a red box around.. Would it then stop working?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Cory P

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, it is working to remove it now. I had to force reboot the phone for changes to be made and allow for it to reprovision I suppose.

    Either way, removing the SIP ID, and rebooting the phone seems to solve the problem with the phones being red vs black. Why it is causing them to turn 'red' I'm not sure.

    But either way it appears to be working now. Thank you for the insight and help
     
  16. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,750
    Likes Received:
    285
    In many cases, depending on your provider, if you use a SIP ID, it will be sent as your caller ID to external destinations overriding any other settings.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.