Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Rebound Functionality For Ring group

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by star1, Dec 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. star1

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    We're trying to have a ring all ring group forward to a group of extensions and an external number at the same time. Among the list of extensions in the group is 1 extension that is set to forward to mobile. It seems the only way to have the forward work is by checking the box for 'Ring my mobile simultaneously'. When this is enabled, it disregards the rebound checkbox. When the simultaneous is unchecked, it doesn't forward at all.

    Did we miss something in the configuration? Does anyone have this working?

    Thanks,
    Eric Mandel
     
  2. mhanson

    mhanson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey Eric,

    Settings => General => Global Options

    Enable 'Allow forwarding to external numbers in Ring Groups and Queues on/off'. Then just make an extension set to forward to an external number, without the Mobile option.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. star1

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I actually had that setting enabled already.

    I changed the rule to not use mobile, but just forward to external number. Still no go. Just to clarify the setup:

    Ring Group 813 (Ring All) contains ext 198
    Ext 198 set to available/logged in.
    Forwarding rule for available: No Answer after 60 seconds (also tried 1 sec) send to an external number. Selected Rebound option

    When I dial 198 directly it works as expected. When I dial 813, the logs show it dialing ext 198 but no further external call takes place.

    Do you have this working in an environment you've setup? Do my settings above look right?
     
  4. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Rules are simple:
    Extension settings don't influence behavior of ring group because ringgroup has own "no answer" timeout and "no answer" destination.
    Mobile(external number) rings only in case if you ask PBX to ring to your mobile simultaneously with your extension or ask PBX to replace extension with mobile or external number (unconditional devertion in Away, Out of office, Custom #2 profiles).
    "Conditional" type of diversion (no answer/busy) is not for ring group (queue).
    Rebound functionality is applied only to calls directly addressed to your extension. Calls routed by ringgroup and queues are not such type of call.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. star1

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stepan,

    Perfect, concise explanation of the rules. Thanks.

    You confirmed my hunch that rebound doesn't apply for ring groups/queues. Can we request that as a new feature in a new version?

    Thanks.
    Eric
     
  6. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Eric,

    There are no objections and/or restrictions to publish(or vote) feature requests on http://3cx.ideascale.com/

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. sohaibwcws

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a similar problem, I have queue able to transfer to my cell phone after selecting send to mobile number but rebound function is not working and its leaving VM message to my cell phone VM box instead of leaving message to my 3cx extension, this is very strange. We can get all the features in Asterisknow and the reason of me buying this software is to get the most of out of it but its not working the way we want it, all the features are there than what is the purpose of this software, but they are not performing well I am sure its a very good software but software doesn't worth anything if its not working the way we want even thou all the features are exist in this software. :x
     
  8. star1

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.