Receiving 800 number calls directly to 3CX

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by rudydm, Mar 19, 2018.

  1. rudydm

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I am trying to configure my on-premise 3CX system to accept 800 number calls from our sip provider AT&T. Their system send 5 zeros plus the 800 to the system. (Example 00000800123456789@IP Address). I had the DID configure with *800 but give a fast busy. Wireshark shows the call rejected with 407 error. Please help.. Thank you
     
  2. mixig

    mixig Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    11
    *800 doesnt match 00000800123456789, you need to create DID *800123456789, which represent anything before * (e.g. 00000 and exact match after * in your case 800123456789
     
  3. rudydm

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried creating the DID with *800number. The wireshark shows the number being rejected. Do I need to change something in the Call Source Identification? It is currently set to "contact:hostpart"
     
  4. voiptoys

    voiptoys Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    63
    There may be other issues unrelated to inbound rules, but mixig is right. The * means I don't care what digits came before, just match the inbound rule to the DID based on the last digits following the *. From 3CX's perspective, there isn't any difference between a regular DID and a toll free DID. They are just DIDs. So, if inbound rules are working for other DIDs, then this one should work the same way.

    As a side note, I typically add the 10 digits to the "Name" of the inbound rule, but only put the last 7 digits in the inbound rule. In your case *3456789. You just need enough digits to ensure your inbound rules are unique. But the 7 digit rule is just my personal preference.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. rudydm

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for you help. The next test and turn up I will try that again but this time i thing i will have to restart the SIP Service.