Recommendations for Analog Failover with 3CX

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by business26, Jul 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. business26

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there we are in the throws of building up a 3CX system on Server 2008 R2 Enterprise but the question has been asked what does 3CX use for analog fail over.

    Would would like to avoid cheap little ata's if possible

    Anyone have any recommendations?

    Support for upto 4 lines - Fax is not being used and is handled elsewhere
    Solid and needs to have a warranty for at least 3 years
    We are in Australia so any pstn compliance rules would need to be taken into account
    Internal card preferred
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,872
    Likes Received:
    304
    You would use a Gateway for connection to PSTN lines, not an ATA. Have a look at the supported Gateways on this page http://www.3cx.com/blog/support/ ,then speak to VoIP suppliers in your country and see which of the listed/tested units is available. A local company that sells you a Gateway should also be able to help you with any country specific settings that may be required.
     
  3. business26

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I should rephrase: Has anyone successfully setup Analog fail-over with either a Patton Smartnode 4114 or Grandstream GXW 4104 to 4 PSTN lines?
     
  4. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    If failover menas using PSTN lines instead of SIP trunks, when last ones are not available, you can use any supported FXO gateway (licensed to be used in your country). Cisco/Linksys SPA-3102 or SPA-8800 is a great device, I will consider it as my first choice.

    Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,872
    Likes Received:
    304
    Keep in mind that, the Gateway will provide a backup for outgoing calls. If your VoIP trunks fail, then incoming calls will stop, unless you have an arrangement with your VoIP provider to somehow forward them to the phone numbers (they will be different phone numbers) of the PSTN lines.
     
  6. willow

    willow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most voip providers have a web interface where you can set the fail over if you sip trunks are busy, unable to register, etc...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.