Recommended routers

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by agentsmithitaly, Apr 9, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. agentsmithitaly

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dear all,
    After having call quality issues when running 3CX server on AWS instance, we decided to move the 3CX server on a VM running on local server, which has plenty of resources.
    Now the only traffic on WAN is between 3CX server and SIP trunk provider (Clouditalia).
    However the call quality drops when there is a heavy upload traffic on the connection (30/3Mbps)
    I have pinpointed the cause to the TP-Link Archer C2600 router, which, despite a powerful hardware, has subpar software. QoS seems not to work with upload traffic, moreover SIP ALG is permanently active and cannot be disabled, confirmed by TP-Link support.

    Which router do you recommend? I have read many use DrayTek, will the 2120 model be up to the task or need a higher-end model?
    https://www.draytek.com/en/products/products-a-z/router.all/vigor2120-series/

    Unfortunately I see there is no recommended router list, so any feedback would be welcome.

    Thank you for your advices,
    Nick
     
  2. Saqqara

    Saqqara Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    149
    Use draytek all the time , for home use I would at 2120 is up for the job. The only issue is that it does not have ADSl / VDSL port just wan Ethernet ports. If your ISP presents your internet connection via a network cable this will be fone

    Has all the necessary options, as per https://www.3cx.com/blog/docs/draytek-firewall-voip/
     
  3. eddv123

    eddv123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    153
    StefanW likes this.
  4. agentsmithitaly

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    @Saqqara: thank you for your feedback, the ISP provide an Ethernet interface so it should be ok

    @eddv123: thank you, I have been considering getting a more expensive multi-WAN router, problem is the area where the company is located has poor DSL service, main service is provided by a Fixed wireless provider, the only alternative would be through 3G/4G connection
     
  5. Sean Glasspool

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Why not something a bit more robust and useful. We deploy Meraki and it has numerous options for QoS and traffic shaping. Couple that with full viability of your network, you can't go wrong.
     
  6. Peter Richardson

    Peter Richardson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    5
    We use pfSense at all our sites, about 20, never had a problem with any of them. Super powerful hardware And software. You have complete control - VPN, QoS, multi WAN, everything. Let me know if you need any further information, I'm happy to help.
     
  7. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    57
    There is no best router until you can define the requirements of what your situation demands. Recommended is a list of what others have used that met their requirements for their network, security, wireless, VPN, QoS and other needs while also working well with SIP and 3CX in particular. It may also have something to do with your skill level and comfort in working with manufacturer's configurations as well the amount you are willing to spend.

    I worked with TP-Link engineering several years ago as I too thought from the spec sheets and all that I had found a robust, well designed router. Only after getting into it did I discover the issues (same as you), but these were on business grade routers. After finally convincing them of the issue and getting several loads of test firmware, they delivered one that worked, but it required some unusual settings and they never rolled it out. I gave up and moved on.

    If your reason for changing is the upload issue (despite or in conjunction to being TP-Link), then you need to really examine the bandwidth utilization. To me, QoS is not a solution but rather a mechanism by which to provide a path for priority packets to make it to the door first. Think the Titantic and women and children first. Not all made it and neither will all the packets even if priority tagged if the connection is that heavily saturated.

    The one thing I will note, is that you will notice that all of the responses in this thread are related to business class capable routers. There were no Belkins, D-links and other consumer grade routers mentioned as these are usually geared for the home user whose interest is Wi-Fi, streaming, gaming and cost. The Archer fits these. These typically lack the level of control and settings (object oriented firewall, Bandwidth shaping and other) that business grade accommodates.
     
    Peter Richardson likes this.
  8. agentsmithitaly

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    @Sean Glasspool I rather prefer an old school, locally-managed router than something cloud-managed, seems safer to me.

    @Peter Richardson I was unaware of this open-source solution, which may be overkill for my specific customer requirement and size, but will have a look at it for sure

    @lneblett thank you for your comprehensive reply. I believe the specific QoS of this model is faulty, as the download speed was throttled but the upload was not throttled at all. In all these years I had several TP-Link consumer-grade gear and realized, while they were cheap, more often than not I had to power cycle them or to disable broken features.
    Even as a consumer I prefer now to spend a little more and get a more reliable device, for businesses, where downtimes are lost money, this is a no brainer.

    I ordered the Vigor 2120 and let you know if it is a good, affordable (120 Euros) router for a 3CX installation.
     
  9. Saqqara

    Saqqara Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    149
    On the draytek you disable alg under NAT - ALG
     
  10. Sean Glasspool

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    @agentsmithitaly
    How is cloud managed not secure? you can enable 2FA etc. Cloud managed with a good MSP is the only way for me...............
     
  11. n2

    n2

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    The 2120 is no longer available in the US. They now have a 2133. However, I have the 2120 at my home and have no issues.
     
  12. StefanW

    StefanW Head of Customer Support and Training
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    82

    Uh my post is old, but most is still valid . Just as an Update

    Statement 2009: SonicWall (no full cone nat support)
    --> Sonicwall provides in later firmwares an option to not alter the ports on NAT (or better PAT).
    https://www.3cx.com/docs/sonicwall-firewall-configuration/

    Statement 2009: Fortigate (uncontrollable SIP ALG Function)
    --> Still a complicated Firewall in terms of disabling SIP ALG, but with the latest documentation we also have it working. Not saying that in some other routings, VPNs etc we will find some more. But basics are also working.
    https://www.3cx.com/docs/fortigate-firewall-configuration/

    To add one well working to the list must be pfSense!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    eddv123 likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.