Recording Path on NAS

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by surfie, Oct 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. surfie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I'm wondering how to set the "Recording Path" in the Global Options to an UNC Path. I tried to set the value to \\192.168.0.xx\record or by a network drive like x:\ Both values didn't work. Maybe the problem are the permissions, but there is no chapter in the manual explaining the needs.

    Thanks for help
     
  2. bluetel2

    bluetel2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hello,

    try to mount network drive in serveur, and next use letter to this network drive.

    Next you can use script to check if network drive is all time up.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    92
    As far as i can remember when we implemented the Option to change the Recording path, choosing network paths was debated and rejected due to Security / Need for a Password to write to that location and some other issues that Network Writing would cause.

    You can only save your Recordings somewhere on the Local Machine unfortunately, but i would feel safer if i double checked that tomorrow just to be 100% sure.

    If it's performance you are trying to increase by saving your Recordings on the NAS i find it a bit pointless since unless you have a pretty hardcore staff making over 80 Sim Calls all the time all day with the Recording Setting ON, i dont see the benefit of putting the Recording Path anywhere else than the 3CX Server it's self.

    Or is it something else you are trying to achieve?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. surfie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    the reason is more we have our 3CX server virtualized using SAS Storage. So a simple NAS with SATA HDDs is a much more cheaper storage than a SAS RAID or SAN solutions.
     
  5. lantone

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, is there a solution/hotfix for this problem? It is very critical to be able to record to NAS, as server SAS storage is really expensive.
     
  6. mfm

    mfm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    2
    You should have a look at this thread:

    http://www.3cx.com/forums/record-and-monitor-calls-6575.html#p32819
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. lmathers

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mark - your link:

    doesn't work.

    It says that I'm not authorised to view that forum, even though I'm registered and logged in.

    I get the feeling this thread would help with my current issue.
     
  8. mfm

    mfm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    Sorry about that, you must be a 3CX partener to acess the link, It had a bundle of information as to why it could not be done. But it also has a link posted by a user to an external program that might assist you. I personally have never tired it, and I am sure the are a lot of options out there you may try.
    Code:
    http://www.telrex.com/google_download_callrex.htm?gclid=CNaNp_Dx5ZQCFQ4YQgodOVv7Qg
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. abc123

    abc123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can I suggest a simple option of a windows script to run and move recordings from the local drive to the NAS? This can be run under task scheduler as often as you need it (daily, weekly, hourly etc).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. sigma1

    sigma1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1
    Save to a local path then use a program like SmartSync to do a MOVE and put it on the NAS. You can set it up for real time monitoring of the folder. Once moved it will be deleted.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.