Redial is inconsistent

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by deeleyit, Apr 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deeleyit

Howdy,
    we have installed the 3CX phone system in our office. We have 4 Yealink phones, 1 Panasonic, 1 Polycom, and a couple softphones on tablets. The system is working very well, IMO. However, the redial is not working all the time.
    When we recieve a call without an area code the redial works everytime, but if the incoming call has the area code in the CID the redial fails. Since I am new to the VOIP scene, I am struggling to try and find the setting that is needed to make this work.
    Any input would be welcomed,
    Joe

Details: 3CX installed on Windows 7, Patton 4114 gateway connected to 2 landlines.

2. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member

Is it a problem with your outbound rules? Is the number (as shown on the phones display) being dialled "as-is"? If so, and there isn't an outbound rules that is satisfied (the 3CX log will confirm this), then you will need to add rules that cover numbers with the area code.

3. deeleyit

Hi leejor,
    Maybe..
    I have a rule for 7, 10, 11 digit numbers.
    Strip Digits is 0

Yes, this is where I am getting bogged down. If I set the outbound to Strip 3 Digits, then only calls with the area code will redial. This is the part I'm not getting.
    The area code our office resides in(585) is set in the advanced settings along with country code(011) and national call number(1).
    Thanks for the help,
    Joe

4. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member

I'm not completely following. If you have rules that cover the dialling of 7 and 10 digit numbers, is it because the number showing on the display does not include the national prefix?

What are examples of numbers (with and without areacode) that you are sending to 3CX, as a redial, and what is it that you want to send out to your provider?