Reformat/Prepend Inbound Caller ID

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by shiva, Nov 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shiva

Hi

Before we begin, I'm new to 3CX and this is our first system.

Have setup a system using BeroNet ISDN gateway and Snom phones. To dial out, the user dials 9 and then the number. All outbound and inbound calls work fine. The only small minor issue is that inbound caller ids display the normal number eg. a call from 01234567891 displays as 01234567891 on the phone, however we need it to display 901234567891 so that you can return the call from the call history on the phones. How can I get it to prepend a 9 on inbound? Or should I do something different?

Thanks

2. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member

Some gateways are able to add digits. The other option is to try the caller ID reformat feature within 3CX. There hasn't been much about this (documentation) as it seems to still be in development.

3. madigan

That's pretty easy, provided you're running firmware version 8 on your snom phones.

You can use a dial plan which also applies for dialling out of caller lists and phone books.
    For example if you want to prefix 9 to all numbers consisting of more than three digits, enter the following string in the dial plan field of the particular identity: |^([0-9]{4,})$|sip:9\1@\d

4. semn

Another idea is to don't use anymore 9 in your outbound rules.

5. shiva

If you don't use 9 to signal an external call, then how does 3CX distinguish between internal and external calls? I would also need to then change voicemail from 999, as UK emergency services is 999

6. semn

I had the same issue in Romania at a client. (Here 112 is the local Emergency services.) My client ask me if i can modify the 3cx server to can call without a prefix number. ( the 3cx server was not installed by me i just takeover the support contract)