Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Registration failed, Cause: 408 Request Timeout; internal

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by mbulles, Mar 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mbulles

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,

    I have 3CX v8 running all day and most of the time everything works fine but.....sometimes I am unreachable on all my VOIP lines and see the following error in the log file:

    Registration failed for [PORT/TRUNK/VOIPPROVIDER ], Cause: 408 Request Timeout; internal

    When this happens in the mgmt console under PORTS/TRUNKS STATUS only red icons are visible instead of green.

    After some time the icons turn green again....my internet connection has not been down during this time.

    Also the different VOIP providers that I use which are configured in the PORTS/TRUNKS status are reachable when I use a softphone for the moment that the error message 408 appears.

    What could cause this problem, or where could I start to troubleshoot this.

    In v7 I did not have this kind of problem.
     
  2. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Usually, 408 appears if FQDN of provider's host can not be resolved using DNS.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mbulles

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,

    Thanks for your answer, but if the ports/trunks status show red, I am able to ping the host from my voipproviders for example sip.voipbuster.com or sip.poivy.com. So DNS resolving seems to be possible.

    Most of the times after 15 minutes, when the next registration occurs everything works again fine for a few hours.

    I never had this problem in V7.

    What else could cause this problem? Or where to troubleshoot further.
     
  4. mfm

    mfm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    2
    In times like these I would normally recommend you would open a support ticket, not sure if you purchased support. But if you havent these are the steps that I would be taking to begin with:

    I would personally start by looking at a wireshark capture, and see if a request for registration is being sent out and reply is coming back from the provider, that way you can eliminate the PBX or focus on it. Could you advise of the results of the wireshark capture.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Bob Denny

    Bob Denny New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm having the same problem with V8.0.11596.758. Only in my case, it doesn't seem to heal itself. A restart of all servers via the management interface immediately corrects it, though. The switch registers with the provider (Callcentric) right away. No reboot of the host computer, no other changes. It's too coincidental that it always corrects itself right away on 3CX servers restart. If it were DNS problems or connectivity problems or Callcentric problems or host computer problems, this would not happen 100% of the time like it does.

    I wish I could get to the system in time to run ethernet packet traces. I'll try. But all I'm going to do is find some sort of smoking gun based on the above evidence :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.