Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Registration of two devices to one extension

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by JamesSquire, Aug 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JamesSquire

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I want to be able to register to my usual extension when I am out of the office (on my iPhone SIP client).

    When I tested this, it appeared to work, but after someone phoned me, I was unable to phone anyone else (403 forbidden). I was then unable to register (again, 403 forbidden).

    I'm guessing 3CX doesn't like having two devices registered to the same extension...

    The only way I can see this working is if I set up separate "remote" extensions and configure the forwarding as required (but I'd prefer not to).

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. TotallyVoIP

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    During testing I have been using 7+ devices using the same extension id etc, not had any issues with forbidden errors.

    Infact currently there are still 4+ devices registered as ext 400, and I have no problems recieving or outbound calls.

    Suggest first recheck all the settings, and test one phone without the other and vice versa, then both togther if all else seems fine.

    We plan of having 2 devices using one ID, so that PA's (personal assistants) can monitor/manage calls for their boss (oe even bosses). So on a Snoom 370 a PA could look after 5 other people using the 6 identities to cover their own line and 5 others, though most the clients needs revolve about PA's who are shared by no more than 3 "managers".

    Good luck, be good to hear the outcome, as it affect our plans!
    Richard
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mfm

    mfm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    Post the logs of a working call, and the logs of a non working one then we can try and understand why this is happening. I have 5 phone set up including acrobits on my iphone. Had no issues whatsover..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. JamesSquire

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Looking at the logs, it appears that as soon as extension 202 registers (with his iPhone) and attempts a call, it gives an "Unidentified incoming call" error.

    I have registered with the same account elsewhere (using X-Lite from the same IP) and this doesn't happen.

    Then, there's a "Requests rate from IP 194.72.121.18 is too high! Blacklisted for 334 seconds" error, which means no calls can then be made from either either of our iPhones.

    The reason we're coming from the same IP is because we're using the same WiFi network.

    I have attached a log of the bad call (Bria for iPhone) and good call (X-Lite).

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. seetarc

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe you are having a problem almost similar to the one i had last week. After lots of troubleshooting what i did that resolved my problem was to do the following.

    PBX FQDN: pbx.squire-technologies.co.uk

    Go to Advance Setting ==> under Setting for Direct SIP Calls, check Allow calls to external SIP URLs, and then under Local SIP domain put squire-technologies.co.uk

    Restart the PBX Services.

    I hope that helps you
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.