Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Remote Extension Provisioning

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by cfive, Sep 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cfive

    cfive Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi,

    V11 Sp1, SPM installed at remote site, Grandstream 1450. MyPhone works from the remote site, but the phone doesn't seem to pick up it's provisioning configuration. Provisioning is working correctly for local extensions.

    I am attempting to provision remote extensions, following this:
    http://www.3cx.com/blog/docs/provisioning-a-remote-extension/

    I don't see where I've missed a step.

    From the remote site /MyPhone works fine, but the phone doesn't seem to pick up it's provisioning at http://<publicIP>:5000/provisioning (with or without a trailing slash)

    Accessing http://<publicIP>:5000/provisioning from a web browser results in 403 - Forbidden. "you do not have permission to view this directory or page using the credentials that you supplied.". But that might be normal - problem is I cannot see whether the Grandstream is seeing the same thing.

    Could this be an IIS restriction, or where should I be looking to resolve it?

    Thanks, Les.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. mixig

    mixig Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hi,

    so port 5000 is available from remote side (myphone is working and using port 5000), does your grandstream has provisioning string, you can check that via phone web interface, string for provisioning must look like this-> http://PUBLIC_IP:5000/provisioning

    if there is no sting for provisioning phone you can put that string manually or via dhcp (option 66)
    http://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/Grandstream-provisioning.html

    can you see on 3cx server on wireshark does the traffic from the remote side is actually coming to the 3cx?
     
  3. cfive

    cfive Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi mixig,

    Yes, all is as it's supposed to be so far as the document goes - that includes the provisioning string manually entered into the phone interface. Just no joy.

    I haven't looked further than this - I was inquiring in case there is a known problem, or configuration step, that I don't know about.

    Thanks, Les.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. mixig

    mixig Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hi,
    next step is wireshark :D , you can filter in wireshark by port 5000, filter syntax: tcp.port eq 5000

    this filter will show all traffic which has src or dst tcp port 5000 so that we can see what is happening
     
  5. StefanW

    StefanW Head of Customer Support and Training
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    93
    and it is normal that u can not open /provisioning, the phone will not ask for this, GS auto append /provisioning/MACofPHONE.FILENAME
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cfive

    cfive Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    6
    No wireshark yet ;-).

    Using http://<public_IP>:5000/provisioning in the config server path seems to me to be bad advice; it gets nowhere. The reason I say this is because leaving off the http:// (as "upgrade via" has HTTP selected) does go.

    The phone updates, registers, and then restarts in about 60 seconds. Continously :-(. I have done a factory reset, but same behaviour.

    One other thing has changed since I initially set provisioning from the 3CX console - I updated the phone system to 11.SP1.

    What do you make of this continous restart (GXP1450)? The only way I can stop it from continous restart is to intervene and do a factory reset.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. cfive

    cfive Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    6
    It's working now.

    1. using the literal string http://<public_IP:5000/provisioning as in the instructions is just wrong - the GXP phones add the http:// to the string. Some phones will do this, some won't. Perhaps it's a no brainer - but I think it would be useful if the instructions called this out.

    2. I think the grandstream provisioning template may have been changed by SP1? I originally provisioned this phone before SP1, and hadn't re-provisioned it after SP1. But reprovisioning solved the reboot cycle and things are working now.

    Thanks, Les.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.