Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Reporting, Queue calls placed on Hold

Discussion in 'Ideas' started by Lester Williams, May 8, 2017.

Reporting, Queue calls placed on Hold 5 5 12votes
5/5, 12 votes

Tags:
  1. Lester Williams

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello,

    A potential client has a reporting requirement.
    Here is the scenario.

    A caller reaches a queue and is answered, the agent has a customer walk into the store at the same time who needs assistance immediately.

    The agent then tells the caller he will be putting them on hold while he handles the customer in the store.
    The potential client needs a report of the time that caller was on hold after being answered from the queue.

    The other reason for this is the client believes that customers will hold for longer if they have "human" interaction.

    So agents will answer a call immediately from the queue even if they are busy and ask the caller to please be patient and put them on hold rather than leaving the caller in the queue.
     
  2. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    170
    If you put a person on hold 3 times for 10 seconds each time for example - What would you expect?
    Can you draft a report mockup on an existing report? Give us an example.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Jort Bloem

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Nicky,

    I'm the person actually trying to write the report, so I'll stick my nose in here.

    Modeled after the call log:

    Code:
    | Date/time             | From | To     | Talking  |Hold time |Hung up on hold |
    | 05/01/2017 1:36:34 PM | Jort | Lester | 00:10:34 |00:00:30  |No              |
    

    OR

    Code:
    | Call number | Hold start             | Hold end               |
    | 12345       | 2017-05-10 11:23:12 am | 2017-05-10 11:23:22 am |
    | 12345       | 2017-05-10 11:23:45 am | 2017-05-10 11:23:55 am |
    | 12345       | 2017-05-10 11:24:10 am | 2017-05-10 11:24:20 am |
    
    This assumes there a "call number", some unique identifier that we can use to find the related call. Then we can see if it ended at 11:24:20am, +-1 second, in which case they hung up while on hold.

    NOTE! "Hold time" is AFTER the call has been answered, not to be confused with "Ringing time".
     
    #3 Jort Bloem, May 8, 2017
    Last edited: May 9, 2017
  4. cornerstone

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am told this is a standard report function in most call center metrics.
     
  5. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Likes Received:
    170
    I think this is complicated to do.

    If you put the call on hold after you answered, Well that hold time is required to service that call.

    I think if you put me on hold to check something for me for 30 seconds, those 30 seconds are an experience of that call and they were required for the agent to service my needs.

    It can be considered as talking / serviced time.

    However if you have a report of another reporting system that displays this information, I would be happy to see some screenshots and take some ideas.

    Did you check if this can be done easier using CDR?

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. jmatano

    Joined:
    May 31, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    It can be factored as total time, but it really should be reported in the database as time not talking. This is one feature we are really missing in 3CX, even with 3rd party assistance because there is no known entry of hold being stored in the database.

    I would think many call centers would require / really want this feature as an option to report off of. It is definitely a KPI for us. If the action is in the database, then the following should be able to reported off of: Total Hold Time, average hold time per case, average holds per call, etc

    These indicators could help us gauge who might need additional training because they are putting customers on hold to ask questions, or more maliciously, who is using hold possibly for call avoidance.
     
  7. Gustavo Reveles

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should also add a Wrong Number or Not Connected Status, having only an Answer/No Answer status is too limited for analysis.
     
  8. voiptoys

    voiptoys Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    154
    In addition to the above, I'm regularly asked for this information for a completely different reason than you might expect. Call center managers want to know when employees are abusing the ability to put people on hold. I'm told this is a common tactic used by agents when they want a break.... they just put people on hold.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. bbaker73

    bbaker73 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    25
    Agreed. Our client call center managers want to see reports for when agents put customers on hold. Then they can look for long hold times and frequency of agents putting customers on hold. Then they can take that info to find abusers or resolve issues causing the holds to make their call center more efficient and less hold time for the customers.