Restarting the system

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by druid, Mar 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. druid

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear All, can any 1 tell me how to restart the 3cx phone system ?? i didnt find it in the manual, i have just taken the free version but i am not able to set it up successfully, i have used 2 sip phones, 1 3cx voip client and other is sjphone, i entered the correct credentials but my phone is not resgistering !! i am doing it on my lan but no success so far, any1 with a good idea as how to solve this issue, the error i get is registration failed, credentials dont match. !!

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. josvic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    At the moment the only thing to do this to STOP the 3CX Services direct from your Windows Control Panel.

    It be very nice if this where an option in the next release..., include it in the wishlist.
     
  3. Halea

    Halea New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Depending on what you're trying to achieve you may need to restart the "3CXPhoneSystem" service alone or all eight 3CX services. It's a bit of a pain, especially that the fax service most often sticks and doesn't properly shut itself down, in which case you might have to restart windows all together.
    To make things a bit easier you might want to create a batch file to stop all 3CX services running. The fax service's eccenticities make me stay away from that approach, but if you simply want to restart the main service, it should be ok.
    Halea
     
  4. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    If there are any active calls at the time when you are restarting phone system service it is highly recommended to restart media server service as well.

    Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. h2009

    h2009 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can you create a batch all stop (restart) file? I'd be interested in making that.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    net start ...
    net stop ...

    net /?
    NET [ ACCOUNTS | COMPUTER | CONFIG | CONTINUE | FILE | GROUP | HELP |
    HELPMSG | LOCALGROUP | NAME | PAUSE | PRINT | SEND | SESSION |
    SHARE | START | STATISTICS | STOP | TIME | USE | USER | VIEW ]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. h2009

    h2009 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    so in start/run > net stop 3cxphonedatabase ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hint:
    if you need to stop it then
    net stop "3CX PhoneSystem Database Server"
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. h2009

    h2009 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah brilliant thank you very much!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. bluefox8080

    bluefox8080 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    To save you some typing:

    Copy and paste this in to a text file and save it as restart3cx.cmd (or anything else), then run it

    Hash out (#) the things that you do not what to restart
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Halea

    Halea New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    NET START /? and NET STOP /? give you a bit more info about how to do it.
    The service name needs to be entered exactly as it shows under the "services" table in windows, and needs to be between double quotes if it contains any space characters.
    Halea
     
  12. h2009

    h2009 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah thanks for that little bit of code. I'll give it ago and let you know how i got along.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. josvic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good batch Bluefox8080...
     
  14. demonofsteel

    demonofsteel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder if I'm the only one, but everytime I try to stop the fax service, it fails... The fax service did not even uninstall when I uninstalled 3CX Phone Server to put in on another server.
     
  15. josvic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, you are not the only that this happens... me too, but If I restart the system past a period of time works again to restart the fax service.
     
  16. demonofsteel

    demonofsteel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, that works, but it's not a very good solution I think. I can hardly think of a moment where nobody in an office is using his phone. That means the system would need to be restarted after work hours, but what happens if fax needs to be used during the day?

    Well, I don't use the fax service, so it does not matter to me, but it could be a lot of problems for those who use it.
     
  17. josvic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a very good idea to implement in the 3CX web interface a buttom to START/STOP 3CX Services...
     
  18. demonofsteel

    demonofsteel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    that's true, a start/stop/restart option would be much better than having a batch file handling all of the services.
     
  19. h2009

    h2009 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    if anyone wants the batch file i can post it for them.
    Fully working (slight edit from the above code, so the window closes after)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. hoadzman

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I've been trying to get some help just to install the trial software to see if its worth my time, and i cant get no help, i'm already frustrated can some one help me get it installed atleast, the services fails to start when installing; "3CX SIP/RTP Tunneling Service Stopped" windows closed service
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.