Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

REVIEW INVITE SOURCE

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by dominicbatty, Jan 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dominicbatty

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I am having a lot of problems with REVIEW INVITE source errors for my DDI numbers. I'll details as much as I can but if there is anything obvious anyone thinks I have missed please let me know and I'll post the extra. I'm not sure if I have found a bug or just missing something obvious.

    We have one VOIP provider (VOIP Unlimited) providing our main telephone number 01695555285 with a block of associated DDI numbers (lets say 01695111500 to 01695111510). We have setup this provider and they work fine, we have also setup all the DDI numbers with associated inbound rules.

    Our 3CX system has always been on a server wiith a public IP address (let's call this 111.111.111.111 for now) so the only way we were able to get our DDI ranges to trigger a source identification rule was to add an "Inbound Parameters > Call Source Identification" rule against the VOIP Provider. This rules reads ...

    Match Any Fields
    Request Line URI: Host Part, Custom Field, 111.111.111.111:5060

    and this works fine because all our SIP traffic comes in on this IP and the host part of the INVITE request is always 111.111.111.111:5060. However, now we are going to use a new router which is going to have two public IP connections (let's says 222.222.222.222 and 333.333.333.333) and and is going to NAT the outbound traffic from the 3CX server which now has a local IP (lets say it's 192.168.1.1). The problem is that the incoming SIP requests may have two different public IP address and the "Request Line URI: Host Part, Custom Field" will not accept two parameters and I don't know which IP the message is going to come in on as the router is controlling which link is up depending on failover etc.

    I then tried abandoning the idea of using an inbound cal source identification and decided to try using the DDI option in the VOIP Provider. I listed all my DID numbers in the relevant boxes and then selected the "SIP Field containing DID numbers" (which was currently blank) and chose "Request Line URI: User Part" which is where the incoming DID number is placed by my VOIP provider but this has not worked. Also because this field was previously blank and is now set to "User Part" I now cannot remove it and adding back in my inbound parameter source identification also has no effect so i think there may be a problem here.

    Here is a SIP message from a failed lookup ...


    14:13:59.136 [CM500002]: Unidentified incoming call. Review INVITE and adjust source identification:

    INVITE sip:01695111500@222.222.222.222:45169;rinstance=d3e7c28b7f6b8eee SIP/2.0
    Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 91.151.2.130;branch=z9hG4bK47f6.b50cb0e5.0
    Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 91.151.11.20:5060;rport=5060;branch=z9hG4bK2e95447d79d598a25cebf673da9837f6
    Max-Forwards: 67
    Record-Route: <sip:91.151.2.130;lr=on;ftag=3441625669-741784>
    Contact: <sip:07777123456@91.151.11.20:5060>
    To: <sip:01695111500@91.151.2.130>
    From: <sip:07777123456@91.151.11.20>;tag=3441625669-741784
    Call-ID: 1086178-3441625669-741778@msx2-voip-unl ... domain.com
    CSeq: 1 INVITE
    Session-Expires: 3600;refresher=uac
    Allow: INVITE, BYE, OPTIONS, CANCEL, ACK, REGISTER, NOTIFY, INFO, REFER, SUBSCRIBE, PRACK, UPDATE
    Call-Info: <sip:91.151.11.20>;method="NOTIFY;Event=telephone-event;Duration=1000"
    Supported: timer, 100rel
    Allow-Events: telephone-event
    Content-Length: 0

    Any help would be very greatly apprecaited. Many thanks, Dominic Batty
     
  2. discovery1

    discovery1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since 3CX has a private IP address you shouldn't need to do anything other than define the DID's

    Are the DID's definitely defined in the trunk properties?

    Either on the DID tab or in the External Number of the Account Details - this should be the Main trunk number.
    Also try defining the numbers in "Source Identification by DID"

    Try removing all of the Inbound parameters rules and save the settings (make sure you do a backup before removing them so you can restore if needed)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. dominicbatty

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem solved .... thanks to some pointers above from "discovery1" and a good night's sleep it all came clear this morning. I thought I'd write up my findings in case anyone else finds them useful.

    Historically we have always used the "source identification" in the VOIP Provider to trigger the DID's as I think when we first started using 3CX that this was the only way to do it or it is possible it's the only way I found to do it.

    In the current v7 release I have also discovered that the minute you amend the "VOIP Provider > <your VOIP provider> > DID > SIP Field containing DID numbers" field from blank to something else then any inbound rules setup in "VOIP Provider > Inbound Parameters > Call Source Identification" seems to be completely ignored. there is also no way back as once this field is set you cannot blank it again.

    Hence, the correct procedure for setting up DID's appears to be as follows.

    1. Setup your VOIP Provider
    2. Under the main number for that VOIP Provder scroll down to "VOIP Provider > <number> > Other Options > Source Identification by DID"
    3. In this field define all the masks for all DID numbers that come in under this VOIP Provider. You do this using a comma separated list. I for example might have DID range allocated to me of 01695555100 to 01695555125 inclusive so this means I could define 0169555510*(this traps all 01695555100-109), 0169555511*(this traps all 01695555110-119), 01695555121, 01695555122, 01695555123, 01695555124, 01695555125(these I have to trap separately) 3CX then knows when it sees this number that it is related to this VOIP Provider. Just be a little careful as my assumption is that your VOIP provider sends the full DID in the SIP message, I have heard that some VOIP provider sometimes only send the last 6 digits etc. you will just need to check your SIP messages to be completely sure what is being sent to you.
    4. Next you have to tell 3CX where in the incoming SIP message this incoming DID number is stored so 3CX knows where to pluck it out of and check it against the DID mask. You do this in "VOIP Provider > <your VOIP provider> > DID > SIP Field > SIP Field containing DID numbers". In order to find this information you will need to set the logging level of 3CX to "Verbose" (then restart 3CX) and then call one of the DID numbers from an external phone. You should get something in the log that looks something like this

    14:13:59.136 [CM500002]: Unidentified incoming call. Review INVITE and adjust source identification:
    INVITE sip:<"If your DID number is here set it to "Request Line USI:User Part"@222.222.222.222:45169;rinstance=d3e7c28b7f6b8eee SIP/2.0
    Contact: <sip:"If your DID number is here set it to "Contact:User Part"@91.151.11.20:5060>
    To: <sip:"If your DID number is here set it to "To:User Part"@91.151.2.130>
    From: <sip:"If your DID number is here set it to "From:User Part"@91.151.11.20>;tag=3441625669-741784

    5. You should then add your DID numbers to "VOIP Provider > <your voip provider> > DID > DID Numbers" and also define incoming routing rules for them.

    Hope this helps anyone who needs it. Cheers, Dom.
     
  4. DeWild1

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you.. My 888 number was down for days!! I thought it was my provider because only my 888 # was affected.
    I do not remember what the hell I did to trigger it because I have still been dealing with this http://www.3cx.com/forums/incoming-calls-silent-1-out-of-10-times-read-tried-a-lot-8768.html and can not fix that! :evil:

    BTW, I just put a * in step 3 and it worked. 8) Not sure if it is a security problem but I will have many numbers so I do not want to maintain a list.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. dominicbatty

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm glad you found this information useful. I'm not really sure myself what use the field is on the front window as you still have to define the individual DID numbers behind the VOIP provider as well in a separate list so I'm not sure why the system cannot use that?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.