Ring Group with all extensions set to DND

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by ziptalk, Jan 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ziptalk

    ziptalk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a ring group configured in hunt mode, and have done a test with all members of the ring group set to DND.

    I expect the behaviour to direct to the specified 'connect to if the call is unanswered' instead the calling phone receives a 'dead tone' like the line is not available.

    If everyone in the Ring Group decided to DND, is there any way I can redirect the call to an available extension ?

    Thanks for any responses - quite urgent as I am doing some final testing for in-house demonstration this week. This would be a major problem if there is no solution since if the customer calls into the Helpdesk and all extensions happen to be on DND - then I can't allow for a dead-tone.

    Thanks,

    Lewis
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. ziptalk

    ziptalk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I've found a bug in ring groups in hunt mode.

    If the last extension is set to DND, it does not overflow!

    I would expect the behaviour to ignore that extension and overflow ?

    Anyone else experienced the same problem ?

    Lewis
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. William400

    William400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI

    Are you setting the DND form the phone or using the 3CX 'Away' dial code.

    The DND on phones will still get 3CX to attempt to contact them. It would be ideal to use the 'Away' dial codes . Please advise the outcome of this.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. ziptalk

    ziptalk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi William, yes you are right I am using the DND feature key on the SNOM phone and not via the 3CX server. I hope I can configure the phone feature key to dial the code for 'away' which will presumably behave in the way I would expect with regards to the ring group.

    Thanks for that, I will test and advise accordingly. PS if you could let me know the dial-code for 'away' that would be handy, else i am sure I'll find it in the manual or on the forum.

    Thanks, Lewis
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. William400

    William400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI

    The dial codes are found in the UI > Settings > Advanced > Dial codes.

    You can configure as required.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. ziptalk

    ziptalk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you. Lewis
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.