Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

RSVP, WFQ or other Cisco QoS

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by cjammer, Oct 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cjammer

    cjammer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been off on my Voip adventure getting VoIP to work across our WAN. The remote office has a 256k connection to it via our Cisco routers. some days the voice is really good others it is really bad.
    I want to at least meet in the middle and have it good all the time. I have been trying to get RSVP configured and use fair-queue to help prioritize the packets. What I have done so far seems to have helped some but not enough to keep the quality constant

    Has anyone else done this on a frame-relay circuit? If so, can you give me some tips or sample configs We are using 2600 and 1750 routers with 12.1 IOS

    Cjammer
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Hoover87

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    QoS

    cjammer,

    You are going to need some serious QoS on that WAN link to get dependable VoIP if your offices are goign to support multiple calls.

    Take a look at the following link:

    http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk652/tk698/technologies_configuration_example09186a0080094af9.shtml
     
  3. cjammer

    cjammer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have done alot of little stuff already and I get some really good calls as long as VoIP is the only thing on the network. Once the network gets in real heavy use, then the calls get one sided audio, sounds like a cell call or if it is really bad, then the call is not concernable at all.

    Some of the basic QoS stuff really helps, but I can tell I need to get the advanced queuing stuff all setup.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. RobLloyd

    RobLloyd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you have the paid version then you should look at using g729. that will cut your bandwidth down from 87k/call to 32k.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Pentangle

    Pentangle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Purely giving a higher priority to your voice traffic (irrespective of what it is) will be the best (and only real) thing you can do.

    If you subsequently still get choppy voice then either you've maxed out your bandwidth for voice (and your data services will *really* suffer), and you'd better buy more bandwidth.

    Obviously the first thing is to ensure you're using the G729 codec though as it really cuts down on bandwidth requirements.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.