Running 3CX on hyper-v

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by imabev, Jul 30, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. imabev

Is anyone running 3CX on hyper-v. I think there were some issues a couple years back but not sure if they've been worked out in v12? I have been running 3CX on a physical for 2 years but would like to virtualize it.

2. bardissi

bardissi Member

Here yo go
    http://www.3cx.com/docs/installing-microsoft-hyper-v/

3. imabev

Thanks bardissi - I have seen that doc but I was hoping someone could relate some first hand experience.

4. NickD_3CX

NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

Running a 3CX Phone System installation in a virtualized environment is something very common and as long as the System Requirements are met (don't forget to calculate +10% in the requirements) you shouldn't have an issue. Note that you must install the Integrated Services if you choose to go Hyper-V.

However what issues are you referring to and what version of 3CX where they present on?

5. imabev

I think it may have been version 10 I heard there were some issues of increased jitter. It could have been anything tbh. It appears if I follow the instructions in the doc it will work just fine. I think I am going to try this this weekend.

6. ian.watts

ian.watts Active Member

Go for it.
    I got tired of that AMD desktop on top of the UPS in our rack.. first threw it on the File/Print/DC box running 2012 R2.. finally went with it's own VM instead. Been pretty much flawless. My problems have been firewalls tanking or crapping out from RTP streams (really?... you're going to choke on a friggin' pair of streams for a phone call?...) so I multi-homed my PBX machine by dropping another vNIC onto the config with VLAN 666 or the external WAN.. and majiggered some port-based VLAN for the switch to the WAN circuit.. my hypervisor is has a team to the switch.