Sending Faxes

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by JohnHenry, Feb 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JohnHenry

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I'm only a whisker away from getting approval to purchase a copy of 3CX for my company. One thing i need to be certain of before this happens is the process of sending faxes.

    I've read that 3CX no longer supports sending of faxes directly (quite why im not sure given it has done by the looks of it). My question is that we have 4 fax lines which are important to our business and thus we MUST be able to send faxes.

    At present, i believe 3 of these lines come in through ISDN to our current phone system and the other through a standard analogue line. The normal analogue one is fine, i can just route this outside of 3CX directly to a fax machine, but those going into 3CX must have the ability to send faxes.

    Can I use a Grandstream HT701 attached to a standard fax machine to send faxes? it says it supports T38 and faxing but I need to confirm this before I can go ahead with anything.

    Thanks
     
  2. jpillow

    jpillow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recommend to all of my clients to keep analog lines seperate from 3CX or any VoIP solution. It can work not impossible however I personally advise against. Inbound fax to PDF is fine but still I'd keep those analog lines sepereate for fax and can also be used in case of outage.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Strider

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I use VoIP-Unlimited as our SIP trunk provider and I can send and receive fax's by using Linksys SPA3102's and setting them up as fax extensions.

    This setup has worked without any problems.
     
  4. davidbenwell

    davidbenwell Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    0
    We can also confrim that this will work well if using VoIP Unlimited.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Viksn

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make your life easier) you can use online services to send faxes without all these machine stuff. For example, I use http://www.popfax.com/ and I'm really satisfied with it. Low prices and great service. You can also get a number, so you'll both send and receive faxes.
     
  6. Ian Joyce

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    It won't integrate with 3CX but if they are strictly using VoIP and no PSTN Rockbochs makes a good solution called Faxxbochs.

    Ian
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.