Sent caller ID depending on destination

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by akito, Apr 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. akito

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I have finally managed to be able to set a 'custom' CID. I have 3 phone numbers and I can pre-set any of these numbers as the CID. Now, what I'm trying to achieve is to have 3CX set the CID depending on the destinating country.
    Ie. calling to country A will use CID X and calling to country B will use CID Y so for example when people miss my phonecall they can call me back for their national rates. I thought I was able to do this by creating multiple VOIP Providers (even though that wouldn't be efficient) but I can't cause I can register only one VOIP provider with the same authentication ID.
    Using outbound rules, there were stripping digits and appending digits is allowed I couldn't find the solution...

    Has anyone got a clue?
     
  2. nbailey

    nbailey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you mean can the PBX auto detect the country and automatically pick the correct port? If so then no that is not possible.

    you do have a few options that can work. For example if you are using a VoIP Provider you can setup outbound caller ID in the VoIP Provider settings then create outbound rules accordingly so if you dial the UK you would press 3 for the outbound rule and then the UK caller ID would be displayed.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. akito

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your reply! Auto detect is not neccesary. Pressing a code before the number would be fine as well. Not sure though how I do that, but that could be since I'm crashing my brain on this for a while :p Could you give me some indications / directions? I'm using only 1 VOIP provider, that I'm using for every destination.
     
  4. nbailey

    nbailey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://www.3cx.com/blog/voip-howto/outb ... e-example/

    basically an outbound rule is a custom parameter you set to tell the PBX which port a call should go, so if you have 3 providers setup you would do the following:

    outbound rule 1: "Calls to numbers starting with (prefix)" use for example number "3"
    Route would be the provider you setup. And set it to strip 1 digit, ignore prepend.

    so now if your calling for example "17772547854" you would dial "317772547854"

    there is a lot you can do with outbound rules. There is also a good video on setting them up here:
    http://www.3cx.com/3cxacademy/
    Good luck!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. akito

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you once again :) But the problem is that I'm using only 1 VOIP-provider for my outbound calls. So far I know, caller ID's can be set in the extension as well as in the VOIP-provider settings (where you can 'hard code' the CID or read it from the extension). So I'm not sure how I would do this with outbound rules and 1 VOIP-provider.
     
  6. davidbenwell

    davidbenwell Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    0
    NO need to strip numbers

    we are based within the UK and for us to do what you want is as follows

    prefix 01, 02, 03, 08, 07 Via Route 1 (UK Route)
    prefix 001 Via Route 2 (USA Route)
    Prefix 0049 Via Route 3 (Germany Route)

    Use this URL http://www.countrycallingcodes.com/ to get the correct dial codes
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. nbailey

    nbailey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try what David mentioned, I misunderstood the question it seems. I still use prefix and number stripping in my outbound rules, call me old fashioned.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.