Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

sent fax from 3cx

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by MasterX, Sep 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MasterX

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,
    in inbound i know as get fax and redirect at mail

    for sent fax, how can i do? my server is 2008 r2;
    please give me help , thanks
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,079
    Likes Received:
    324
    Sending a fax successfully will depend on several things..

    A fax machine, or device, that can send at a low enough speed to work.
    An ATA that supports t.38, and is configured properly.
    A VoIP provider that supports t.38, or a Gateway that supports t.38

    If everything is configured correctly, it might work. Fax over VoIP can be very hit or miss.
     
  3. bardissi

    bardissi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do yourself a favor and dont do fax over SIP.

    Use a https fax solution.

    PM if you need help figuring out a direction.
     
  4. complex1

    complex1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    47
    Then I am very lucky. I am using a (low speed) fax machine, a SPA3102, a VoIP provider that does not support t.38 and I can make successful fax transmissions.
    I think a good QoS setup and sufficient upload bandwidth is essential.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,079
    Likes Received:
    324
    I've had luck using a fax machine though a 2102 ATA to 3CX then out on a PSTN line via a 3102 Gateway. However, if I try to receive a fax over a VoIP provider that has told me that they do not support t.38 (I always get a different story every time I ask them), it connects and keeps dropping in speed before failing.
     
  6. MasterX

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    my line fax is attach with line2 of my patton

    can i send fax using the patton?
     
  7. infonetics

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been able to send and recieve over a vitelity trunk using a Patton M-ATA, with no issues (other than screwing up my inbound routing the first time and getting frustrated...but that was configuration error, not a failure of the solution).
     
  8. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,079
    Likes Received:
    324
    Are you talking about a Patton ATA or PSTN Gateway? In either case, if t.38 is an option, and set correctly, you have a good chance.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.