sent fax from 3cx

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by MasterX, Sep 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MasterX

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,
    in inbound i know as get fax and redirect at mail

    for sent fax, how can i do? my server is 2008 r2;
    please give me help , thanks
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,368
    Likes Received:
    228
    Sending a fax successfully will depend on several things..

    A fax machine, or device, that can send at a low enough speed to work.
    An ATA that supports t.38, and is configured properly.
    A VoIP provider that supports t.38, or a Gateway that supports t.38

    If everything is configured correctly, it might work. Fax over VoIP can be very hit or miss.
     
  3. bardissi

    bardissi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do yourself a favor and dont do fax over SIP.

    Use a https fax solution.

    PM if you need help figuring out a direction.
     
  4. complex1

    complex1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    38
    Then I am very lucky. I am using a (low speed) fax machine, a SPA3102, a VoIP provider that does not support t.38 and I can make successful fax transmissions.
    I think a good QoS setup and sufficient upload bandwidth is essential.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,368
    Likes Received:
    228
    I've had luck using a fax machine though a 2102 ATA to 3CX then out on a PSTN line via a 3102 Gateway. However, if I try to receive a fax over a VoIP provider that has told me that they do not support t.38 (I always get a different story every time I ask them), it connects and keeps dropping in speed before failing.
     
  6. MasterX

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    my line fax is attach with line2 of my patton

    can i send fax using the patton?
     
  7. infonetics

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been able to send and recieve over a vitelity trunk using a Patton M-ATA, with no issues (other than screwing up my inbound routing the first time and getting frustrated...but that was configuration error, not a failure of the solution).
     
  8. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,368
    Likes Received:
    228
    Are you talking about a Patton ATA or PSTN Gateway? In either case, if t.38 is an option, and set correctly, you have a good chance.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.