Seperate ring tones for different inbound numbers

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by adamwells, Mar 15, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. adamwells

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    We have 2 different inbound numbers, each for separate companies. We need our users to be able to distinguish what number is being called, so they can answer the phone in the correct way. Is it possible to set specific ring tones on each number?

    Thanks
     
  2. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    56
    Yes, but it will likely require some manipulation of the provisioning of the phones be it manually or via the template.

    Depending on the phone make and model, there may be within the phone some settings that will allow you to set a ringtone based upon the incoming CID.

    You might also do a search for alert-info as many phones can also be programmed to sound a different ring based on the alert-info field.

    Either way should work, depending on your set-up of how calls get delivered, but be aware that if the phones are provisioned by 3CX you need to examine the templates and possibly modify so that any subsequent re-provisions do not erase or change your desired settings.
     
  3. adamwells

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!

    Thanks for your response. We use Yealink T42G phones. We also have T46 handsets available.

    I've found this in the provisioning template:

    #"X" ranges from 1 to 10;
    #Configure the text to map the keywords contained in the "Alert-info" header.
    #distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.X.text = family
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.1.text =
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.2.text = external
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.3.text = international
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.4.text = national
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.5.text = local
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.6.text = queue
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.7.text = ivr
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.8.text =
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.9.text =

    #Specify the ring tone for each text. It ranges from 1 to 8. The default value 1 stands for Ring1.wav.
    #1-Ring1.wav, 2-Ring2.wav, 3-Ring3.wav, 4-Ring4.wav, 5-Ring5.wav, 6-Ring6.wav, 7-Ring7.wav, 8-Ring8.wav.
    #distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.X.ringer = 1
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.1.ringer =
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.2.ringer = 2
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.3.ringer = 3
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.4.ringer = 4
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.5.ringer = 5
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.6.ringer = 6
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.7.ringer = 7
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.8.ringer =
    distinctive_ring_tones.alert_info.9.ringer =

    I'm just having trouble understanding how to set it for separate numbers. At present, the 'external' one is the ringer for all external calls.
     
  4. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    56
    OK...Yealink...

    The Yealink typically supports distinctive ring in 2 ways - 1) The alert-info and, 2) from the local phonebook.

    You may need wireshark to see how 3CX populates the alert-info field. You will want to look at the INVITE and in the Message Header section expand to see "CSeq" whereupon you should see the Info-Alert information.

    I did a call and got:
    Alert-Info: <http://www.notused.invalidtld>;info=external

    As you can see the call was listed as "external" which maps to your ring tone #2. The reason for the not used is because 3CX appear to not support using a URL where a distinctive ring tone could be downloaded.

    The tricky part is that you may need to try various configurations such as having the call from line 1 for company 1 going into Ring Group 1 and then to an extension. Hopefully, the name (you assign) that is associated to the ring group will get populated into the alert-info and then you can associate the ringer accordingly. You can then do the same for line 2 for company 2 and Ring Group 2.

    It has been awhile since I have played with this and I have not done since V14 was released so some things may have changed. It will require some experimentation.

    Just keep in mind that if you make manual changes to the phone set-up, any future provisioning of the phones done by 3CX may erase or change the settings; so you should modify the templates to meet your need to avoid the issue.
     
  5. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    63
    Actually this might be possible out of the box, not however by playing a different ringtone depending on the DID that was dialed, but with Text on the Phones display.

    I believe by default, if in the Inbound Rules you populate a name, any calls using that rule, when they reach an endpoint should show on their display <Inbound rule name>:<Caller ID>
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.