Should I (or can I) go 3CX in all offices

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by purvis, May 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. purvis

OK, here's my situation...

I'm a network admin with minimal phone system experience and similar knowledge of most traditional legacy telco technologies. My company has 4 offices, all in the state of Florida. The main office has about 50 extensions and phones (not a call center, just an office) and 12 analog lines coming into a 10-yeal old Nortel system. It's revently crashed twice on us, and we've become very suspect of its reliability. As a result we've begun looking into a new phone system.

I've also looked into some options regarding service as part of a long term strategy to save money and keep up with the advances/changes in technologies.

The three smaller offices have approximately 25, 10 and 8 employees, and 8, 4, and 4 analog lines coming in to legacy phone systems.

Being a Windows/Network guy, i'm excited about the possibility of running all Windows based phone systems. I've always felt kind of hamstrung by our old phone system and never was excited about doing any kind of maintenance on it, or even adds/changes. I'd like to go 3CX in every office eventually (starting with our main office) and also go to VOIP service only in the smaller offices.

Because we have well established long time phone numbers in our offices we're not going to drop our existing phone numbers altogether. Each office will have voice service of some kind coming in to the building.

Is it even worth considering VOIP for our "main" office? We have a 10Mb fiber link that we're using for web and interoffice VPN, so I'm guessing that we don't want to put potentially a dozen voice circuits on that.