Show DID called instead of caller ID

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Ben C, Oct 14, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ben C

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. We have several DIDs. When a call comes to a specific DID, we need to acknowledge which DID was called, instead of who called. That's because we have to answer based on the DID the call came for. How can I do that for a few DIDs?
    I have been playing with 'VOIP Provider' > 'name' > 'Source ID' > 'Source identification by DID' > 'Add DID' > chose 'SIP Field containing DID numbers', but no luck so far. Is this the right place?
    How can I do this?

    Thank you
    Ben
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,878
    Likes Received:
    307
    I think that a lot of users pass the calls through a ring group (or queue), and pick up an identifying name there. The name should be kept short ,as some devices do not have the ability to show all information (CID number/name and RG name) resulting in truncation.
     
  3. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,429
    Likes Received:
    279
    Just put the DID into the DID rules and setup according to the provider (Source ID, etc). The DID name will show up.
    Ensure the Prepend option is on as well.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Ben C

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi craig
    Thanks for the reply.
    I can't find the "Prepend" option.
    The manual says:
    "The DID name can be pre-pended or appended to the Caller ID so as to identify on which
    number a caller has called. You can enable this from the Settings > General > Global options page
    under ‘Append/Prepend name to caller ID’." but it's not there...
    I have V12, SP6, 37098.738

    Thank you
    Ben
     

    Attached Files:

    • DID.jpg
      DID.jpg
      File size:
      40.5 KB
      Views:
      948
  5. Ben C

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    I got it.
    ...Settings > General > Global options.
    First tick the "Add Queue, Group and DID names to Caller ID" to have "Append/Prepand name to Caller ID" shown
     

    Attached Files:

    • DID.jpg
      DID.jpg
      File size:
      33.5 KB
      Views:
      946
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.