Simple steps

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by iperez_genius, Jul 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iperez_genius

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am very very new to this technology and even more so to setting up this technology.

    My company has asked me to learn 3cx and setup within our local network and then finally so for out bound calls...

    I am just a little unclear about how things work
    Here is what i understand please someone correct me if i am wrong...
    1. On my server i setup the server software and configure my extensions
    1205
    1206

    I also configure a VOIP line

    >>We have a VOIP line at the office already ...
    the question is...is that all i need to do to set up the server?

    From the client end
    When the softphone pops up i enter the ip address of the server followed by 5060
    my extension, my password...and that all right?

    Please someone fill in the gaps or show what i need to read to fill in the gaps.


    Thanks in advanced

    Ilan perez
     
  2. alsoft

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you got a good server with Windows Server 2003 or a good pc with Windows XP? If yes i suggest to dedicate it to 3CX to improve performance, number of concurrent calls and have more system stability preventing some crashes of Windows OS.
     
  3. SIPfun

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like you got it covered... it's basically that easy.

    You'll have to setup some outbound rules for routing out calls.. and maybe setup the auto-attendant.
     
  4. iperez_genius

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    You will be happy to know that i have set up the server and two clients and the status is green...

    it was so simple i was really impressed by the software.

    So far i haven't added the voip connection the pbx is only on an internal LAN

    but hopefully after testing i will connect it.

    very exciting :)

    Thanks for the help everyone

    Ilan
    P.s. i know i will be back soon
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.