Simple test setup, cannot make outgoing calls

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by jsalton, Apr 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jsalton

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    Please help. Have burned many hours on this and can't find anything in the forum, manual or technical manual.

    Outbound calls fail as shown below.

    I tried to get it working on a vmware xp machine but that had the same problem. It is now running on a proper Win 2003 SBS box and has the same problem.

    I am forwarding ports 5060 and 9000-9015 UDP to 192.168.1.108, the 3CX boxes IP. All firewall tests work and the Stun server contact seems happy.

    I have one outbound call rule. Calls to numbers starting with 0, and Route 1: Pennytel. Strip digits: 1 The digit stripping seems to work according to the log below.

    Can anyone help me get started please? I am sure that this is a basic, simple setup issue. There are only 2 extensions and one Pennytel VoIP line. It couldn't get simpler.

    Thanks,

    Jonathan

    14:35:24.783 StunClient::eek:nInitTests [CM506001]: STUN request to resolve SIP external IP:port mapping is sent to STUN server 64.69.76.23:3478 over Transport 192.168.1.108:5060
    14:32:41.800 Call::Terminate [CM503008]: Call(7): Call is terminated
    14:32:41.800 Call::RouteFailed [CM503014]: Call(7): Attempt to reach [sip:00293430551@192.168.1.108:5060] failed. Reason: No Answer
    14:32:41.800 CallLeg::eek:nFailure [CM503003]: Call(7): Call to sip:0293430551@sip.pennytel.com:5060 has failed; Cause: 408 Request Timeout; internal
    14:32:09.169 CallCtrl::eek:nSelectRouteReq [CM503004]: Call(7): Calling: VoIPline:10000@[Dev:sip:61289869410@sip.pennytel.com:5060]
    14:32:09.153 CallCtrl::eek:nIncomingCall [CM503001]: Call(7): Incoming call from Ext.101 to [sip:00293430551@192.168.1.108:5060]
     
  2. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you setup any of your phone to connect directly to VoIP provider and try to make outgoing call?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jsalton

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, am using 2 SPA941s. I have one line setup to dial directly using Pennytel, and it works fine. Also, I can call extension to extension. Pennytel shows that they have the 3CX pbx registered.
     
  4. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have some outbound proxy settings in 3CX for Pennytel?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jsalton

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Archie,

    I have the following VoIP provider. Not sure if it is right or not:

    Registrar/Proxy Hostname or IP: sip.pennytel.com port:5060
    Outbound Proxy Hostname or IP: sip.pennytel.com port:5060

    It actually started working at one stage, but took ages to connect a call. I test again now, 48 hours later and it has stopped working again incoming and outgoing calls with no change to setup.

    Thanks,

    Jonathan
     
  6. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try to remove outbound proxy settings
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. jsalton

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I removed the URL and port from the proxy setting and the line registration was lost. Pennytel reported offline and the line status indicator in 3CX server status page went to red.

    Jonathan
     
  8. Henk

    Henk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am just about to fire up pennytel, is this resolved or is this still an issue?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. King Computer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Configuring 3CX to use pennytel

    Hi,

    See this post on setting up pennytel account which I have setup successfully with Pennytel.

    http://technicians-blog.kingcomputer.com.au/index.php/installing-windows-3cx-voip-telephone-system-with-pennytel-part-2

    Add a comment to if you want further help.

    Brendan King
    CEO King Computer Solutions, Silverdata IT, Tilda Communications
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. thenua

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pennytel works fine for me also. Never had a problem. Nothing special required to set it up in my experience. Happy to share details with anyone needing them.
     
  11. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,582
    Likes Received:
    249
    If I recall, doesn't 3CX default to a greater range of ports than just 9000 to 9015? I thought it went higher unless you manually set it to restrict the ports to only use up to 9015. What happens on an incoming call, does the system log show the call? Are you seeing logs indicating that 3CX is registering properly with the VoIP provider when you first boot up?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.