SIP calls between 3CX and other IP PBX over WAN

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by urtho, Oct 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. urtho

Hi,

Have simple setup here. Two branches linked with VPN.
    One branch has Asterisk the other one has 3CX.
    Each IP PBX has it's own local SIP trunks to ITSPs.

Goal one :
    have proper (internal) caller id when calling from 3CX to Astrisk over WAN.

Goal two:
    have RTP streams go directly between phones for interoffice calls.

PBXes and phones are in different private subnets reachable via default gateway.

Is 1 & 2 doable on v9 3CX ?
    My current setup proxies RTP streams and puts external IP in SDP so I have no audio.
    Also all caller-ids are spoofed to a default SIP Trunk Caller ID when going from 3CX to Asterisk.

Urtho,

2. abc123

abc123 Active Member

I will prefix this by saying I have little or no experience with Asterisk.

3CX has a bridge mode where it can be a master or slave so if Asterisk can do the same then that is all you need.

You can have multiple bridges in 3cx and each is treated as a voip provider in the system (in laymans terms) meaning you can make calls through it. Use an outbound rule at each end to tell it to use the bridge (e.g. dial 11<ext> to go out through the bridge and strip the 11 prefix).

That way you "should" see the extension number of the caller (but this does depend on any config changes you may have made to the sip headers etc either end).

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. urtho

So the bridge thing is not limited to "3CX to 3CX" scenario but one can have 3CX to AN IP PBX bridge ?

4. SY

SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

Hi Urtho,

The subject is about WAN. The post is about VPN. WAN and VPN are slightly different things, right?
    Could you please describe the topology of your network in detail?