SIP FXO adapter

Discussion in 'Android' started by JamesK, Sep 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JamesK

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have installed 3CXPhone on my Google Nexus One and am planning on using it as a wireless extension of my home phone. To do this I need a SIP FXO adapter and have found the Cisco/Linksys SPA3102.
    http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps10027/index.html

    Has anyone used this for this purpose? Any other device?

    tnx jk
     
  2. bluetel2

    bluetel2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    5
    hi,

    wellcome on 3cx forums ;)

    spa3102 is first price of product if i can said that.

    i suggest you to buy patton gateway, it's more expensive but it's another quality (call quality, easy configuration and product quality).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. JamesK

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    "i suggest you to buy patton gateway"

    What model did you have in mind? This is the only similar thing I see and it provides exactly the opposite function to what I want. http://www.patton.com/products/pe_products.asp?category=328

    It connects an analog phone to a SIP service (FXS). I want to connect a SIP phone to an analog phone line (FXO). The 4110 is overkill for my needs.

    What I'm looking for is SIP to FXO, not FXS

    Also, what do you mean by "spa3102 is first price of product if i can said that."? That sentence doesn't make sense to me.
     
  4. bluetel2

    bluetel2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    5
    Also, what do you mean by
    ? That sentence doesn't make sense to me.[/quote]

    :D sorry for my english, that i want to said, it's spa3102 is the bad product.

    spa3102 make the same fonctionnality that spa3102 but better quality.

    i don't understand why connect directly sip phone to gateway and now i never see that. maybe it existe. of course you can plug patton or spa to switch and next sip phone on the switch to, but sip phone directly on the gateway ?? for analog phone ok but sip...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. JamesK

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    "i don't understand why connect directly sip phone to gateway and now i never see that. maybe it existe."

    My intention is to use the Nexus One as an extension to my home phone line, in addition to being used as a cell phone. The 3CXPhone supports both internal and external servers, so it could be configured to work whether at home, connected via WiFi or elsewhere, connected via the internet, using WiFi or 3G.

    I have a lot of experience with a TalkSwitch VoIP PBX and it's certainly easy enough to do this with it. However, again, that would be overkill.

    So, bottom line, I'm looking for a single line SIP to FXO adapter. FXS to SIP adapters are very common and used to connect an analog phone to a VoIP service or PBX.
     
  6. whitehat

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem.

    For this to work in the SPA 3102, the 3CX client must be able to call (an IP) without registration to any PBX.

    This is called IP dialing and you can call it like this: "xxxxxxx@ip_address:port" (xxx is the number you want to call from your phone, and ip_address is the address of the SPA 3102)

    Is this possible with 3CX for android phones?
     
  7. JamesK

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you misunderstand my situation. I only intend to have the smart phone act as an extension on an analog line, not connect directly to another phone. According to what I read about that SPA3102, it should work. That device can connect either a soft phone or analog phone to either an anlalog line or some VoIP service, such as a PBX or outside VoIP provider. I'll be using the softphone > analog function.
     
  8. whitehat

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    wrong expression..

    I want to use the exact same thing.

    As far as I search for this, i don't think we can register any soft-phone on the SPA. (That's why I mentioned IP-dialing).

    If you have any additional info please post it or pm me.

    Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.