Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

SIP Trunk issue

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Alenlin, Dec 14, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alenlin

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am a newer to 3CX.
    Now I am learning how to configure the SIP Trunk.
    Question 1:
    Why does dashboard indicates 4 SIP Trunks but actually I only configured 3.
    The pictures as follows:
    upload_2017-12-14_15-3-16.png
    upload_2017-12-14_15-4-5.png
    Question 2:
    Why do we have to configure Numbers of Physical PSTN Ports On Device.
    In my view, I can just specify the number of SIM Call and that is enough.
    upload_2017-12-14_15-5-42.png
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mariosM_3CX

    mariosM_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    40
    Hello @Alenlin

    For your first question, regarding the SIP trunks, please note that Gateways and Bridges are considered as Trunks as well from the PBX. So you must take into account these as well.

    Regarding your 2nd question, it seems from your screenshot, that you are trying to configure a Gateway and not a SIP Trunk. A VoIP gateway (or PSTN Gateway) is a device which converts telephony traffic into IP for transmission over a data network.
     
  3. Alenlin

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank u for answering my questions.
    Regarding my 2nd question, why do we have to specify the number of ports on the device?
     
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,086
    Likes Received:
    325
    There are various types of gateways, from different manufacturers, and they can handle calls from the PBX in a number of ways. The options may be necessary to accommodate this.
     
  5. Alenlin

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's very nice of u answering my question.
    I still don't know why we must to specify the number of physical ports?
    Or in other words, if we don't specify that,what will happen?
     
  6. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    84
    You must understand that these options exist in the interface with the supported GWs in mind. They are used mainly in the background to generate things for the provisioning files. If you are going the Generic GW route, then these probably don't apply for you as most of the config will have to be done manually.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.