Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

SIP Trunk Provider Modification

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by architechture, Dec 7, 2018 at 7:42 PM.

  1. architechture

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    What modification to a SIP trunk will cause it to show as:
    "You are using Unsupported SIP trunk providers which may cause issues."

    I used one from the dropdown and after modification it shows the error above on the dashboard.

    Thanks,
     
  2. architechture

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    So it looks like this problem was caused not by a simple modification but by exporting and importing. I'll test further.
     
  3. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,358
    Likes Received:
    535
    Hello @architechture

    Please note that if you import a providers template the system will recognise that as a non supported provider and you will get the unsupported warning.
    I would recommend using the 3CX provided template when adding trunks.
     
  4. TBWD

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    On a similar note, we have just become a supported SIP trunk provider, is there an easy way to change from the non-supported, to our supported template, or do I just have to create a new trunk?
     
  5. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,358
    Likes Received:
    535
    You will need to create a trunk to be able to use the new template. Also when a template update is released the changes are not auto applied to existing trunks as we do not want to override any changes the user might have done to the trunk .
     
  6. TBWD

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks for the update, that is as I thought and have been doing it that way.
     
    YiannisH_3CX likes this.
  7. architechture

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, if I export a verified provider template and import it in order to change just the Main Trunk number, it now becomes invalid? Hmmm....
     
  8. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,358
    Likes Received:
    535
    The phone system is not aware of what is imported when you import a template and is not aware what changes were made so the trunk will be flagged as a non supported trunk.